5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Cathleen Daly

Happy TRIFECTA DAY! I’m super excited to be celebrating Emily’s Blue Period with Mr. Schu and Nerdy Book Club. Emily’s Blue Period is a special book. I had the best discussion about it with my third graders a few weeks ago. I hope you get a chance to check it out.

Before you read my interview with talented and amazing Cathleen Daly, be sure to check out a couple of things.

1. Mr. Schu’s interview with Emily’s Blue Period illustrator Lisa Brown.

watch.connect.read.

 

2. Cathleen’s AMAZING Nerdy Book Club essay.

nerdy monster

Now it’s my turn. I asked Cathleen 5 questions. She had to follow these four simple rules while responding:

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview Rules:

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 sentences
  • 1 question with 4 sentences
  • 1 question with 3 sentences
  • 1 question with 2 sentences
  • 1 question with 1 sentence

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Emily’s Blue Period?

It’s a book about a girl who loves making art whose parents are getting a divorce and she finds that making art helps her through a difficult time. 

emily

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

Well, I’m a bit of an oddball, sometimes I’m a silly oddball and sometimes a more serious oddball, but I get to express that quirkiness when I write. I also really like that I work at home. I live in a little cottage in a very pretty garden and sometimes cats come and visit me. My favorite visitor is a cat named Theo who only has one eye so he looks like a pirate. A chubby, extremely sweet, purring pirate who likes to sit smack dab in the middle of the spot on my desk where I write.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

Making myself finish things. I have no problem coming up with ideas and starting projects, but finishing them is MUCH more difficult for me.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?
I would definitely spend it inside the world of The Phantom Tollbooth. That was my favorite book as a kid. I would want to go to the City of Dictionopolis, hang out with Tock the watchdog and eat some letters from the word market. And then maybe I’d get a pick-ax and go unearth some numbers from the mines of Digitopolis.

phantom

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Remember that your imagination is a wonderful place. When you write, the world is lucky enough get to get to enter your imagination. Also, finish things!

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Cathleen Daly

  1. OK, Cathleen—I (and probably every writer on the planet) wants your cabin in the garden 🙂 Theo the Pirate sounds so sweet—and intrusive! And ooooh…finishing things…

    Thanks for the great interview 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

