Interview and Cover Reveal with James Kochalka

I’m stoked to have the honor to reveal the cover to James Kochalka’s latest graphic novel The Glorkian Warrior Eats Adventure Pie. My son is the world’s biggest fan of The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza, so we are eagerly waiting The Glorkian Warrior Eats Adventure Pie.

Here it is!

Glorkian-Cov

Now it’s time for an interview! Today’s interview is of the 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 variety.

1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Glorkian Warrior Eats Adventure Pie?

 Glorkian Warrior and Super Backpack are trying to track down a dangerous Space Snake that is ravaging the pie factories of the universe, but a rival Glorkian Warrior named Buster Glark and his backpack Toby get in the way.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I like seeing the stories in my mind come to life on the page.  I like holding the finished, printed copy of the book when it arrives in the mail.  And I like knowing that lots of people I’ve never even met are going to read and enjoy the stories.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

 It takes a really really long time to finish writing and drawing a whole book.  The first rough draft of a graphic novel is great fun to draw, but creating the finished art takes an incredibly long time.  I think it’s hard for a lot of people to stick with it all the way to the end, but I’ve trained myself to do it.  You can train yourself to do it by finishing some shorter projects first, and work your way up to the really long ones.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

I guess it would be fun to visit Moomin Valley, so I’ll say Finn Family Moonintroll.  I might have to shrink down to their size to really appreciate it, but I’m not sure exactly what size the Moomins actually are.

finn-family-moomintroll-pb-fiction_f03de879f85f97a2a54b79f55836b7e5_1385207956

5. What advice do you have for the young writers/illustrators in my classroom?

 If you think you don’t have any ideas, try starting by drawing a picture.  Maybe try drawing the characters that will be in the story, before you try to write about them.  If you’re really stuck, try scribbling with a pencil for a while.  You won’t write anything unless your pencil touches the paper, so if you start scribbling you’re already half-way there.  Or, if you’re using a keyboard, just start typing and stupid thing you can think of.

Leave a Reply

