5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Tamera Wissinger

I absolutely LOVED Tamera Wissinger’s GONE FISHING, so you can imagine my excitement to chat with her today about her new book THIS OLD BAND.

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview Guidelines:

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 panels
  • 1 question with 4 panels
  • 1 question with 3 panels
  • 1 question with 2 panels
  • 1 question with 1 panels

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of panels

4. Have fun!

Tamera’s words will appear in RED-mine in BLACK.

Thank you for hosting me on your blog today, Colby. I’m happy to be participating in your 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview, especially since my new book is a count down book! So 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1…here we go!

thisoldband

1. Can you tell us a little bit about THIS OLD BAND?

THIS OLD BAND is a rhyming concept book that features a rowdy band of mustachioed cowboys and even a mustachioed cowgirl who are playing music and having fun out on the open range.

The band counts down from ten to one as each band member plays a different musical instrument.

The story is set in the striking western/southwestern part of the United States where there the landscape and wildlife include mesas, mountains, mustangs, and bison.

I think that Matt Loveridge’s artwork beautifully illustrates the rich colors and landscape of this part of the country.

The rhythm of the story is set to a familiar nursery song, so readers can also sing or chant the song as I’ve done here: https://soundcloud.com/tamera-wissinger/tamera-wissinger-reads-this-old-band

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I enjoy the challenge of taking a tiny idea and helping it become a story or poem that children might enjoy.

To me, writing stories and poems that rhyme and have rhythm is fun, like solving puzzles.

I love connecting and reading with students.

I feel lucky to be part of the wonderful children’s literature community.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

The discipline it takes to continue writing when there are so many temptations to do other things.

Since writing is mostly something that I do on my own, sometimes it can feel lonely.

Rejection is part of the job, but sometimes it’s hard to hear.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

Oh, there are so many excellent book worlds and it’s very difficult to choose, but I’ll say at Villa Villekula with Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

Pippi is so independent, unusual, a little bit naughty though loveable, and lonely, I think, so I would like to visit my childhood friend.

pippi

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

If you are writing at school and you get stuck; ask Mr. Sharp if you can move around the room for a moment or even stand up and briefly bounce on your toes by your desk to see if you can loosen up your ideas.

Great questions, Colby! Thanks again for letting me stop by your blog for a visit today; I appreciate you!

6 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Tamera Wissinger

  1. I have to second that–love the suggestion for loosening up ideas! I’m adding it to my repertoire and passing it on to my young writing friends. Thanks for a great interview, and LOVE the look of this playful book!

    Like

  2. Just LOVE the look of these mustached cowboys and girl 🙂 (What IS it with mustaches, btw?) Your answers were great, too, Tamera. You even made me want to re-read Pippi. Wonder if I will! Thanks for the fun interview, Tamera and Colby 🙂

    Like

  3. Gone Fishing was a great mentor text for my young writers. I look forward to adding this adorable one to the collection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

