You Probably Need VOXER

voxer

I’m taking a break from my regularly scheduled bookish blog posts to tell you about one of my favorite apps. Voxer is a push-to-talk walkie talkie app that reminds me a lot of when everyone seemed to use “two-way” on their Nextel phone.

I use Voxer all the time to connect. My wife and I use it as a way to communicate with each other. It is sort of like voice texting. I also use Voxer with educators that I’m connected to. Sometimes we send each other 10-second Voxs, and other times the Voxs are 4-5 minutes.

As much as I love emailing, Twitter, texting, etc. there is nothing like hearing the voice of the person you are communicating with. With the busy lives that we all live, a phone conversation isn’t always possible, but I can send a Vox to someone, talk about whatever we need to talk about, and they can Vox me back when they have a moment. You can also send pictures or text on Voxer.

One of my favorite functions of Voxer is that you can create groups. I’m not sure that we could have pulled off Nerd Camp without our “Nerd Camp” Voxer group. It allowed us to stay connected and fill each other in on what we were doing and what we needed done for camp.

I’ve had Voxer on my phone for less than six-months, and I know that I am only scratching the surface of how it can me used. Lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about how I can use Voxer in my classroom. I could very easily create a classroom account on our iPads. We could use it to connect with other classrooms. Maybe we could share book-talks with a partner classroom. My students are often moving around the building while working on projects. When they have a question, they have to come all the way back to our classroom and tons of time is lost. If we had Voxer on our iPads, they could just send me a Vox and I could help them out.

The possibilities for Voxer are endless. I’m excited to see how I can use this tool with my students. If you have any ideas, please leave them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

