The And Two Boys Booed Trifecta

I’m super stoked to share my 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview with Judith Viorst today. Today’s interview is part of a #SharpSchu trifecta.

Check out Mr. Schu’s interview with illustrator Sophie Blackall.

watch.connect.read.

Ms. Blackall is today’s guest blogger over at Nerdy Book Club.

nerdy monster

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

• 1 question with 5 sentences

• 1 question with 4 sentences

• 1 question with 3 sentences

• 1 question with 2 sentences

• 1 question with 1 sentences

3. They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

TwoBoysBooed-500x407

1. Can you tell us a little bit about And Two Boys Booed?

Olivia, my granddaughter and Alexander’s (of the very bad day) daughter came home from summer day camp a few years ago. She had been in a talent show, and I was eager to get a report on how she had done. “Two boys booed,” she told me, rather ruefully. And I should have said something like, “Oh sweetie, I’m so sorry.” Instead, to my shame, I said, “Great title for a book.”

TJ60-12-13 JKT 175L CTP.indd

2. What is your favorite thing about being an author?

I love making a connection between myself and my readers. When I buy a dress, I want it to be different from everyone else’s. When I write, I am looking for all the similarities between what I’m writing and those I’m writing for. It’s incredibly satisfying to be told, as I have been told, “You said exactly what I feel.”

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author?

Some writers get it right, or pretty right, the first time. Not me. I sometimes think I need to figure out all the different ways to write it wrong before I have a sentence, a paragraph, a chapter, a book that satisfies me.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

I wouldn’t mind spending a day in Alice’s Wonderland. But I’d like to skip some of the scariest parts.

alice

5. What advice do you have for the young authors in my classroom?

If you want to be a writer, you need to read and read and read and write write write.

Leave a Reply

