The Right Word Trifecta

Bryant and Sweet’s The River of Words is one of my all-time favorite picture book biographies. It is an absolutely masterpiece. On the way home from the Texas Library Conference last spring I sat next to someone that works for Eerdmans (they published The River of Words). On the flight home, I heard from my new friend about Bryant and Sweet’s forthcoming masterpiece: The Right Word. Getting an opportunity to read an early copy of this book was an honor. It is gorgeous. You must read it.

right

The story should end there. I got to read this amazing book. Maybe I’d write a quick review about it, nope. I get to interview one of my all-time favorite illustrators- Melissa Sweet as part of a trifecta with Mr. Schu and Mrs. Miller.

Pinch me!

Be sure to check out Mr. Schu’s interview with Jen Bryant.

watch.connect.read.

Now check out Donalyn’s review of The Right Word over at Nerdy Book Club.

nerdy monster

Time for my interview with Ms. Sweet! She has totally blown me away with her responses.

BLOWN. ME. AWAY.

Let’s start with the rules I gave Ms. Sweet:

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 sentences
  • 1 question with 4 sentences
  • 1 question with 3 sentences
  • 1 question with 2 sentences
  • 1 question with 1 sentences

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

******************************

I then asked Melissa to answer these 5 questions:

1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Right Word?

2. What is your favorite thing about being an illustrator?

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an illustrator?

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

5. What advice do you have for the young illustrators in my classroom?

************************

Now it is time for Melissa’s responses. Hold on tight. She totally blew me away.

Colby Sharp trifecta interview (1)

8 thoughts on “The Right Word Trifecta

  1. Pingback: Nerdy Book Club

Leave a Reply

