5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Donna Hosie

I’m thinking that today’s book is the perfect book for this spooky time of the year. I hope you enjoy my interview with author Donna Hosie.

devils

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Here are the rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

  • 1 question with 5 panels

  • 1 question with 4 panels

  • 1 question with 3 panels

  • 1 question with 2 panels

  • 1 question with 1 panels

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of panels

4. Have fun!

Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about THE DEVIL’S INTERN?

ANSWER (4 sentences): THE DEVIL’S INTERN is about a seventeen-year-old called Mitchell Johnson. He’s been dead for four years and he’s not happy about that. When he discovers a time-travelling device, he and his three best friends in Hell decide to travel back to the time of their deaths, but they soon discover changing time isn’t as easy as they think. THE DEVIL’S INTERN is ultimately a story of friendship, love and loyalty.

2. What is your favorite thing about being an author?  

ANSWER (1 sentence): As a published author I get to see tangible proof of something I love doing and I think I’m pretty good at!

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author?

ANSWER (3 sentences): For me, it’s always time. I work full time and I have three children, and finding time to write means I sacrifice sleep. My working day starts at 4am and finishes around 8pm, and I’m constantly exhausted.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

ANSWER (2 sentences): Right now it would be THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m absolutely obsessed with the Raven Boys and would like to give Noah a hug, Ronan and Adam a date night, and Gansey a kiss!

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?  

ANSWER (5 sentences): Regardless of age, writers need to read. Test yourselves and read outside your preferred genre. You will learn about plot structure by reading thrillers and crime novels, you will learn about great characterisation by reading young adult, and you will learn about world building by reading fantasy and sci-fi. Start writing fan-fiction because writing about something you are passionate about is easy. Finally, write for yourselves, not anyone else.

2 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Donna Hosie

  1. This was an enjoyable interview and not the type book you typically feature, Colby 🙂 You wouldn’t expect a book called The Devil’s Intern to be about friendship, loyalty and love, so I’m VERY glad you mentioned it, Donna 🙂 I sincerely feel for you with your lack of sleep. I’ve lived my live that way, so I can say, from experience, it’s not good for you and you body eventually rebels in bigger ways! I DO hope you find a way to sleep more 🙂 And good luck with your book!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

