10 Minute Review: The Princess In Black

princessblack

I love Shannon & Dean Hale’s The Princess in Black for many reasons: it’s a great early chapter books, LeUyen Pham’s illustrations are gorgeous, I know my students will love it.

The things that I love most about this book is how much my daughters are going to love the book. My daughters live for pretend. One minute they are Anna and Elsa from Frozen, and the next they are safari girls headed out on an expedition. They truly are my princesses in black.

Princess-in-Black-1-500x321

I read a lot of books each year, and I think that I do a pretty good job providing my students with lots of books to read in our well-stocked classroom library. The readers that I have the most difficulty providing enough books for, are the readers that need very early chapter books and early readers. It’s not that I don’t have a lot of these books, it’s just that they go through them so stinking fast that I can’t keep up. I cannot wait to hand The Princess In Black to these kids.

It’s hard not to compare this book to Kate DiCamillo’s Mercy Watson series, but I think the beautiful writing and the respect the Hale’s show young readers is something that Ms. DiCamillo would cheer.

The Princess in Black is a must own for elementary school libraries and classroom libraries where kids are still working their way into chapter books.

2 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: The Princess In Black

Leave a Reply

