5 Things I Loved About Last Week 10/24/2014

Discover. Play. Build.
I’ve really been wanting to participate in Ruth Ayres’ Celebrate link up on Saturdays, but I do book videos with Mr. Schu on Saturdays. I’m going to try and write my celebrate posts on Fridays, so that I can participate in the fun. Some weeks I might do it on Sunday. Some weeks I might not do it at all. I believe in stress free blogging.

5things1

Here are 5 things I loved about last week.

1. Digital Literacy with Friends

allwrite

Last Saturday I was lucky enough to lead a digital literacy workshop with Ruth Ayres, Bill Bass, and Franki Sibberson. It was magical. I learned so much from my friends and all the wonderful people that gave up a Saturday to learn with us. Click on the image below to check out the resources from out session.

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 4.47.04 AM

Images create by the one and only Ruth Ayres.

 

2. Family

I loved every second of coaching football. Every. Single. Second. I feel extremely blessed that my lovely 35 weeks pregnant wife supported my crazy schedule during the season. This past week I feel like I’ve gotten to spend so much time with my family. The extra time with my wife and my kiddos has really rejuvenated me. The highlights of the week were visiting an orchard and carving pumpkins.

The orchard.

A photo posted by Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:46pm PDT

4. Beat Northwest Last Friday all the Parma Western football players grades 3-10 were invited to come down onto the field to create a tunnel for the varsity football team as they ran out onto the field. I loved seeing all the little panthers yell and scream down on the field.   photo 1 (2) The night was capped off with a huge win over our rivals. I’m super proud of my brother Sam (#51) who played a great game.  

Love this picture of @samsharp06 and @cooper_austen in today’s paper. #wsdpanthers A photo posted by Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:21am PDT

5. Classroom Experts

One of the things I was dying to try after our digital literacy workshop was a classroom export list. Franki Sibberson shared this idea with me at the workshop and I think it is brilliant. Having a list in the room with a bunch of things that kids are experts at, empowers the kids and frees me up to teach. The kids love being acknowledged as experts, and I love when they get support from each other instead of me.

photo 2 (3)

8 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week 10/24/2014

  1. Love the pic of your children! Glad you had some family time together. Wish I lived closer to where these things happen – would love to have attended the Digital Literacy Workshop -lots still to learn in this arena.

    Like

  2. I guess you will be celebrating a new member of the family very soon, Colby. Best wishes. And congrats on the football. I see you sharing about it on FB sometimes, and wonder how you’re doing it all! I used to do the class expert in my classes; it helps tremendously, and the kids do feel so good about it. Happy times!

    Like

  3. I am so glad you got more family time! I know they are so inspirational for you. And yay for football fun. I love the classroom expert list. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

