5 Things I Loved About The Last 7 Days 10/31/2014

Be sure to check out all the great Celebrate posts over on Ruth Ayres website. Ruth is the best, so you should probably read everything on her blog while you’re there.

Discover. Play. Build.

Another great week is winding down, and I’m excited to share a handful of things that stood out for me. I hope you all had a wonderful week.

5things1

1. Team Awesome

https://vine.co/v/OMQtjqKxAXF/embed/simple

I’m going to try inviting students to come in 45 minutes early once a week to explore some different tools on our computers and iPads. The goal would be that later in the year these experts would be working on cool projects that really push their thinking and the way I look at digital literacy. We met for the first time yesterday and it was super fun. I was able to teach them how to grab images for their book talks from Goodreads, and create avatars for their Write About account. We did something similar during our writing time later in the day. Having a handful of experts on the topic really helped make things run a whole lot smoother.

Here's the avatar I created.

Here’s the avatar I created.

I’m not really sure what to call this little “club”. Each week I’ll have different students joining in on the fun. Right now I’m just calling it “Team Awesome” in head.

We're putting our booktalks on @writeabout today. Writing is such a beautiful mess.

A post shared by Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) on

2. A New Book

Mr. Schu and I are working on a little project to celebrate Linda Urban’s 2015 picture book, so Candlewick sent me a copy. Huzzah! I can’t wait to share this book with kids, and for the rest of Nerdy Nation to check out her amazing new book.

I'm a very happy reader. @illustrated_gal @lindaurbanbooks

A post shared by Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) on

https://vine.co/v/OMI2UZOpQF3/embed/simple

3. Grocery Shopping with AJ

During football season I wasn’t able to shop at favorite grocery store, Meijer. The last couple of weeks, I’ve been back in my normal routine, and AJ is very happy about that.

https://vine.co/v/OMrbW93Ir7h/embed/simple

4. Exciting Book News!

Lauren Castillo is one of my favorite illustrators. I love her: books, her tweets, her Instagram feed. When she posted on social media about her new book deal, I was through the roof. My favorite illustrator illustrating a book about one of my all-time favorite books: BLISS!!

Bonus picture (because everyone can use a little hedgehog in their life)!!!

story hour

A post shared by Lauren Castillo (@studiocastillo) on

5. Teaching Close to “Home”

I was feeling super sick on Monday. I don’t usually get sick, so I am a bit of a baby when I do. A few minutes before lunch I realized that my lunch was at home. Since my wallet was missing, I didn’t have a whole lot of options. Thankfully, my parents house is a few hundred yards from my classroom door.

https://vine.co/v/OMKjDX3AdiW/embed/simple

10 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About The Last 7 Days 10/31/2014

  1. Hope you’re feeling better, but it also looks like a good week. I like that idea of ‘experts’ learning, then helping later. There are many “teachers” in our classrooms! Love the news about the E.B. White book-it’ll be another treasure. Thanks, Colby!

    Like

  2. Colby, I can’t wait to follow your journey with Team Awesome, what a great idea. Also your celebrations about having a bit more time at home and lunch at your parents just made me smile. Enjoy.

    Like

  3. Oh I can’t stop smiling!! Love that tech group! What an awesome gift for students and you. Love all your vines especially the penny ride at the grocery store. Brings back sweet memories. Thanks Colby.
    Julieanne

    Like

  4. Colby, I love the idea of your list of five things. I tend to ramble – this would be a good way to keep me on track.

    I can’t wait to hear about what else Team Awesome gets to do this year. Sorry you were sick Monday – that’s a rotten way to start the week – but I’m glad that you have your parents so close by.

    Like

  5. What a cool idea for a club! Those kids are going to learn so much! And I’m so excited about the book news, too! E.B. White is also one my favorites, and Lauren Castillo is a perfect illustrator for it! I had missed that announcement, so thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

