5 Things I Loved About The Last Seven Days 11/14/2014

Be sure to check out all the amazing “Celebrate” posts over on Ruth’s blog.Discover. Play. Build.

5things1

1. Hanging Out With Mrs. Sharp

A huge highlight from the last 7 days was taking an overnight trip with my lovely wife. We spent a night near the Soo Locks which is located north of the Mackinac Bridge. With our baby expected to come sometime in the next week or so, the trip provided us with some much needed quality time.

https://vine.co/v/Oiz1lPJp9hz/embed/simple

2. Nerd Camp News

nerdcamp

I was so excited to finally be able to share that Jennifer L. Holm is coming to Nerd Camp this summer. My students are already flipping out.

holm

3. New Books

I was super stoked to open a package on Thursday that contained 3 books that I’m super excited to read in 2015.
https://vine.co/v/O5ulV33H7eH/embed/simple4. Visiting Old Friends

For the first time since leaving Minges Brook Elementary a little over a year ago, I stopped by and visited. Getting a chance to chat with old friends really made my day.

I also got to peak into my old classroom. It was crazy to see that so many of my old reading posters are still hanging on the walls.
https://vine.co/v/OillKOPaYz7/embed/simple5. My Shooting Star

At the end of each school year I give my students “paper plate” awards. The idea came from my lovely wife. On the last day of school I say a few words about each student, we all clap, they come get their award, and I place a donut on it.

Yum.

Back in 2010, I gave a “Shooting Star” paper plate award to Lauryn. I loved teaching Lauryn. She was an amazing little girl. Unfortunately, Lauryn passed away last week at 14. At her funeral her paper plate award was proudly displayed by the family.

I was honored that Lauryn chose to hang on to the award for so long, and that the family decided to display it during the funeral.

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About The Last Seven Days 11/14/2014

  1. I can’t imagine what it felt like to see that paper plate at a visitation of a young student. You touched her life. I am so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing this!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

