Trifecta: The Storm Whale

Today I’m celebrating The Storm Whale with Mr. Schu and Nerdy Book Club.

Mr. Schu interview’s Benji Davis.

watch.connect.read.

Benji’s Nerdy Book Club post.

stormwhale

I love picture books.

I love reading them with my kids at home.

I love celebrating them with my students.

I love sitting down with a big stack of them on a Sunday morning.

I love how I feel when when one captures my heart.

The Storm Whale is a book that has captured my heart. It’s a book that begs to be read aloud, and pleads to be shared with children.

You need to check out this book.

Mrs. Sharp is 39 weeks pregnant and I have lots to do around the house before the newest Sharplet joins the family, so I’m going to have to keep this pretty short.

Here are 10 things that I love about this book.

1. I love that Noi lives with his dad by the sea with six cats.

2. I love that this book makes me want to pack my bags and move to the sea.

3. I love Noi’s hat. It’s adorable.

4. I love that Noi hides a whale in the bathtub.

5. I love that my kids love this book.

6. I love that Noi’s big fisherman dad is a hugger.

7. I love each and every illustration. If Benji lived in the states this book would have so been on the Mock Caldecott list.

8. I love the cats. Each time I read the book I discover cats on pages and in places that I didn’t see before.

9. I love the last page.

10. I love hearing what others think about this book. *hint-hint*

nerdy monster

2 thoughts on “Trifecta: The Storm Whale

  1. I don’t often get to picture books anymore, and it’s something I miss. This one sounds like the kind I’ll have to find an excuse to read. Maybe borrow someone else’s little one for the day? lol

    Like

  2. I just ordered it, based on your review and Mr. Schu’s. I can’t wait to share it online with my students! I know they’ll love it, especially the cats. There will be so much to talk about! Thanks for the suggestion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

