5 Things I Loved About the Last Seven Days 12/5/14

Be sure to check out all the Celebrate posts on Ruth Ayres blog every Saturday.

Discover. Play. Build.

I have spent the entire week at home with my wife and baby Hobbes. I have a ton of things that I could share from the last week, but I’ll try and mix in a variety of different things.

1. First Walk

Once we got home from the hospital things got a little crazy. We all of a sudden had nobody to take care of us and three additional kids to keep alive and healthy. I wanted to let Alaina get a little bit of sleep, so I decided to walk the four kids a half mile to our local city park. It was awesome. Hobbes did great and the kids got to run wild.

https://vine.co/v/Onxg6eqmIdM/embed/simple// <![CDATA[

// ]]>

https://vine.co/v/OnxLPp7hBwb/embed/simple2. Dharia Climbing a Rope I’ve always been fascinated by people climbing to the ceiling of a room on a rope. I tried it once. It didn’t go well. Watching my 6 year old do it at gymnastics was both humbling and awesome. https://vine.co/v/Ovhngud3zDH/embed/simple

3. A New Chapter Book

We can never have enough great chapter books in the world. I’m reminded this every day as a third grade teacher. Yesterday, I receieved an advance copy of Tricia Springstubb’s Cody and the Fountain of Happiness. It is way good. Like special and amazing and wonderful all wrapped up into 160 pages.

The illustrator of @springstubb’s CODY AND THE FOUNTAIN OF HAPPINESS also illustrated DOLL BONES.

A photo posted by Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:32am PST

 

4. Nerdy Book Club Turns 3

Three years ago earlier this week Nerdy Book Club had its third birthday. I’m so proud of what the site has become, and that we have stayed true to our roots. I can’t wait to see what the next 3 years has in store for Nerdy.

Click on the Nerdy logo to read Donalyn Miller's post about Nerdy's third birthday.

Click on the Nerdy logo to read Donalyn Miller’s post about Nerdy’s third birthday.

5. #WriteDaily30

I’m participating in the writing challenge Linda Urban through out on her blog. I’m trying to write every single day for 30 days. I’ve never written that many days in a row before, and so far I’m doing pretty good. I’m using the challenge to document our time with baby Hobbes.

You can read more about the challenge by clicking on the image below.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 8.17.29 PM

 

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About the Last Seven Days 12/5/14

  1. You and your family are amazing. I love the glimpse into family AND life you provided in this celebration. You have a lot to celebrate. Take care of yourself during this busy, sleepless era of life.

    Like

  2. This is the second time I’ve read about Linda Urban’s challenge. If I see it a third, I’ll have to do it.
    Love seeing you so happy with all your kiddos. Good luck with that. It’s such a challenge and totally worth it. (I can say that because I have 3, anything over 2 qualifies.)

    Like

  3. Enjoy this special time with your family. And love the rope climbing. My daughter managed this feat as well. I have no idea how. Kids are pretty amazing! The family walk is very sweet and perfect for the Mom who needs to rest!

    Like

  4. Love that you’re using the challenge to document time spent with your new baby. So fun to see the video of your walk with four! Congrats, glad you got to be at home for this precious time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

