Puppy Pirates Cover Reveal, Nerd Camp Junior Announcement, and Interview

Erin Soderberg is awesome. Her books are awesome AND she is awesome. I met her at NCTE 13 in Boston and she quickly became one of the coolest people I know. Her Quirks series is a huge hit in my third grade classroom, and I cannot wait to put her Puppy Pirates series in the hands of my readers. It is sure to be a monster hit.

I’m very excited that Erin has given me the opportunity to debut the cover to the first Puppy Pirates series book on my blog today. The first two book in the series hit shelves 7/7/14.

Puppy Pirates 1 Stowaway

 

Interview

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

·         1 question with 5 sentences

·         1 question with 4 sentences

·         1 question with 3 sentences

·         1 question with 2 sentences

·         1 question with 1 sentences

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about the Puppy Pirates series?

Puppy Pirates is my new early chapter book series about a crew of swashbuckling, adventure-loving, mischief-making pirates, who happen to be puppies. I wrote this series for my son, Henry, who begged me to write a funny adventure story (Henry and our goofy pup, Wally, are the stars of the series!).

By the end of Kindergarten or first grade, my kids and their friends were all reading independently, and we had a hard time finding enough age-appropriate chapter book series at the perfect level for them to devour. Puppy Pirates is the kind of series the kiddos in my life love to read—filled with humor, adventure, and great friends. Side note: as I was writing Puppy Pirates, I wanted to make sure the funny bits and reading level were spot on, so I enlisted a bunch of K-2 girls and boys to read and comment on early drafts—luckily, they loved it! (5)

  1. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

The very best part of my job is visiting schools and meeting kids who have read The Quirks series or other books of mine. I really enjoy talking about books and writing with kids, and love that students walk away from an author visit feeling inspired to read and write more! (2)

  1. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

Writing the middle. The beginnings of novels are almost always easy for me, since it’s so fun hanging out with new characters/friends. The endings are also fun to write, because all the pieces of the story start falling into place. But the middle is like a big, messy black hole—my first drafts are always very ugly and sloppy and incomplete! (4)

  1. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

 From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler! I always longed for Claudia’s sense of adventure, and I’d love to relax in the Met’s elegant beds and old rooms (though they’re probably pretty dusty…). Even though I love going on adventures in books, I think I’d be freaked out if I actually landed inside some of my favorites, like The BFG, Breadcrumbs, The Graveyard Book, or The Phantom Tollbooth. (3)

  1. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Read widely, read often. (1)

nerdcampI am super excited to announce that Erin is joining us for Nerd Camp and Nerd Camp Junior this summer. Puppy Pirates comes out during Nerd Camp, so we’ll be sure to help Erin celebrate in style.

Be sure to visit the Nerd Camp site to see the cover reveal for the second Puppy Pirates book.

giveaway

I’m excited to be giving away 3 ARCs of Puppy Pirates: Stowaway!

Giveaway rules:

1. Must be at least 13

2. Must enter by 11:59 PM, 12/12/14

3. Must have a U.S. mailing address

2 thoughts on “Puppy Pirates Cover Reveal, Nerd Camp Junior Announcement, and Interview

Leave a Reply

