I’m Not Going To Tell You About Wish Girl Or Bone Gap

I find that I often know so much about a book before I read. I’ve read countless tweets, read the authors post on Nerdy Book Club, and read a couple of book reviews. This sort of prep work has allowed me almost eliminate books that I don’t enjoy from my reading list. I know what I’m getting myself into, and with so little time and so many books to read this has been extremely helpful.

I have recently read two books that I knew nothing about. I hadn’t talked to any of my friends about them, and I hadn’t read a word about them. Heck, I didn’t even read the description on the back. I found my reading experience during these two books to be magical. Discovering the magic from these books on my own was refreshing. I didn’t find myself thinking about what another reviewer wrote, or about that line that a friend tweeted, and I didn’t find myself rushing through the books like I often do.

I’m not going to stop reading blog posts, and I’m not going to stop adjusting my to-read pile based on what my friends are going to be tweeting about. What I am going to do, is take some time each season to read a book that I know nothing about. At times it will be disappointing, but it will be worth it because the magic of discovering and experience a terrific book on your own is heavenly.

Bone-Gap-FINAL

I really wish I could go on and on telling you about all the magical things that will love in Nikki Loftin’s Wish Girl and Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap, but I’m not quite ready to share. I just can’t imagine taking that magic from you.

wish girl
Read them.

They are freakin’ awesome.

3 thoughts on “I’m Not Going To Tell You About Wish Girl Or Bone Gap

  1. I agree! I go into most of my reading sessions knowing as precious little about the books as I can. Often I go and read reviews or blog posts after finishing, but I like to go in as a blank slate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

