Are You Ready For #Nerdlution15?

nerdlution (1)

Image created by Kristine Mraz

 

Last year a bunch of Nerdy Book Club friends started #Nerdlution. A nerdlution is basically just a resolution. I think the “nerd” in front shows our desire to become nerdy about our goal. We can be super nerdy about our books, about teaching,  about our families, etc. I think of a nerdlution as a chance to take something that is missing from your life and make it something that you kick butt at. It might be a fitness goal or it could be a writing goal. I’m sure that you have an idea of what you want to work on.

There are two things that I am going to work on for my nerdlution. I’m hoping that after 50 days these two things become a part of my life, and that they no longer are a goal. They are just what I do.

1. Limit my soda intake

I drink a lot of pop. A lot. It would be embarrassing for you to learn how many days I go where the only things I drink are soda and coffee. Yuck. I’ve tried cutting out soda before.

Fail.

I like soda. I crave soda, so cutting it out completely probably isn’t going to happen anytime soon.

My goal is to limit myself to two glasses of soda a day. One during lunch and one during dinner. No more drinking soda outside of meals.

Yikes!

I can do this.

2. Workout 4 days a week

I’m am doing great with my workouts over break. It’s easy for me to get out and run 3 or 4 miles when I don’t have the demands of my job on my plate.

I’ve had a really hard time working out this school year. During football, I didn’t get home until 6:30 each night, and we just had a kid, so working out the last couple weeks before break was almost impossible.

I know that I can do four days a week. Two days during the week and both weekend days.

I got this.

nerdlution

I hope you’ll think of joining us for this year’s challenge. Set a goal and work the next 50 days to turn it into a habit. We’ll be tweeting about our progress using the hashtag #nerdlution15.

We really hope you’ll join our little Nerdy support group.

Nerdlution starts 1/1/15.

Good luck!

7 thoughts on “Are You Ready For #Nerdlution15?

  1. I don’t know which soda is your culprit, but I was drinking Diet Coke and discovered it was the cause of my headaches. Quit cold turkey and now I only drink tea and coffee. (wine, too, but we won’t talk about that.)
    Thanks for posting about the nerdlution. It may be just what I need to get writing done that I have been avoiding. Exercise is a good idea, too. Good luck.

    Like

  2. Cutting back on pop (Diet Pepsi/Diet Coke) is on my list as well. Continuing to exercise each day is also on it. You can do it!

    Surrounding myself with positive and nerdy influences is high on my list this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

