5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Jennifer Niven

I am very excited to celebrate All The Bright Places today with Mr. Schu and Nerdy Book Club. Mr. Schu and I have a whole bunch of 2015 trifectas planned, and I cannot think of a better book to start the celebration.

You can check out my post on All The Bright Places by clicking on the cover above.

You can check out my post on All The Bright Places by clicking on the cover above.

Last year I read one young adult book. I am very selective in my young adult reading. My wife and my dad each read my ARC of Jennifer’s book, their glowing recommendations led me to picking up the book and giving it a read. I absolutely loved it.

I hope you enjoy my interview with Jennifer.

5,4, 3, 2,1 Interview Rules:

1. I give the interviewee 5 questions

2. They have to answer

·         1 question with 5 sentences

·         1 question with 4 sentences

·         1 question with 3 sentences

·         1 question with 2 sentences

·         1 question with 1 sentences

3.  They get to pick which question which question to answer with each number of sentences

4. Have fun!

niven

 

Interview

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about the All The Bright Places? All the Bright Places is about a boy and a girl who meet on the ledge of their high school bell tower as they’re both contemplating jumping. It’s about bright places and dark places, about making it lovely and leaving something behind. It’s about acceptance in spite of everything, and realizing that you are your own bright place in the world. And it’s about a real boy I once knew and loved.

 

  1. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?  I love creating new worlds on the page. And I love knowing I’m reaching readers and impacting them in big or small ways.

 

  1. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer? As a writer, you have to be willing and able to tap into your darkest, saddest feelings and put them on paper. But it’s not always easy to bleed so publically.  Also, the editing process—as necessary as it is— can be grueling.

 

  1. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick? Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

 

  1. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?  Write, read, and work hard.  Remember to enjoy it. Don’t get hung up on making it perfect, because there’s no such thing. Write the kind of book you’d like to read. Write what inspires you, write what you love.

Be sure to read Jennifer’s Nerdy Book Club post.

Click on the Nerdy logo to read Donalyn Miller's post about Nerdy's third birthday.

Click on the Nerdy logo to read Donalyn Miller’s post about Nerdy’s third birthday.

Mr. Schu has put together an All The Bright Places resources post. Check it out!

watch.connect.read.

4 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

