My 2015 Reading Goals

'15

I usually stress out about setting reading goals. I analyze things way too much. In the end I end up just setting a book goal for the year and call it good. For the last three years I have set a goal to read 1,000 books. Two of the last three years I have met that goal. Three of the past three years that goal has stressed me out. This year I have decided not to set a book number goal, and instead come up with 5 things that I’d like to do as a reader in 2015.

1. Read More Young Adult Books

I read exactly one young adult novel published in 2014. I’ve already read two 2015 young adults books (Bone Gap and All the Bright Places). By the end of the year I hope to have read at least 6 young adult books.

2. Read All the 2015 Newbery Books

This is sort of like a goal that I have for myself every year. In the past my goal has been to have already read all the books when they are announced at the end of January. I’m not putting that sort of pressure on myself anymore. I avoided some of the favorites in 2014, knowing that I will go back and read them if they are honored by the committee.

3. Read at Least 3 Books that I have Somehow Missed

At some point this winter I’m going to write a post of the 10 best books I have never read. No matter how much we read, we always miss some of the books that our friends absolutely love. I’m going to figure out which books I have for some reason missed over the years, and try to read at least 3 of them in 2015.

4.Β Read Some Football Coaching Books

Last fall I had the opportunity to see one of my dreams come true: I got to coach football at my alma mater, Parma Western. I loved every second of it. Heading into year number two, I know that I must increase my knowledge of football and learn more about the art of coaching my favorite sport.

5. Read a 200 Page Book In One Sitting

With 4 little kids running around the house, extended reading is hard to come by. A lot of my reading happens in 5-20 minute bursts. I want to find a way to not lose the magic of reading an entire book at once.

This will probably happen on a vacation.

 

8 thoughts on “My 2015 Reading Goals

  1. Colby, I am loving this move away from the numbers and to the heart of your reading life! Sounds like a great reading year to me. (And I will ask my hubby the names of the books he read for coaching youth football — seems like there was one “system” he really loved!)

    Like

  2. Great goals. I especially love #5. I haven’t thought about this, but it’s been a long time since I’ve done this. I think there was a time last summer when I had the house to myself for the weekend when I read a long mystery novel over about 36 hours. The intensity was wonderful.

    Like

  3. Colby, I LOVE your idea! I’m particularly interested in your YA reads…I’m a little obsessed with YA at the moment..well, for chapter books. I still get a boat load of new picture books each week. May I make a few suggestion regarding YA? (Notice how I’m going to go ahead. And I KNOW that you probably know all of these books and authors…so basically, these are MY favorites.) Maggie Stiefvater: Scorpio Races was a fave of hubby and I…and it’s going to be a movie, but we have joyfully devoured ALL of her books. Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens…wicked hilarious…reminds me of adult writer Christopher Moore. Markus Zusak…Book Thief, of course, but his I Am the Messenger is SO different from BT but fab…I think every teenager should read this book before graduation. Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart series, think reluctant boy readers. John Green, goes without saying. Eleanor and Park, Rainbow Rowell…another ALL teenagers should read…great music references! Perks of Being a Wallflower. Every Day, David Leviathan. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman…half dragon/half human…waiting for sequel in March! On the lighter side buy the story telling is exquisite, think reluctant girl readers, Cinder series by Marissa Meyer. Colby, I admire you…thank you for doing what you do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

