Mac Barnett Interview (The Terrible Two)

theterribletwoI am super excited to talk about what I am sure will be one of them most read novels of 2015. The fact that I get to celebrate this book with my good pal Mr. Schu makes things even sweeter.

Be sure to go on over to Mr. Schu’s blog to read his interview with The Terrible Two illustrator Kevin Cornell.

Mr. Schu Interviews Kevin

Now it’s my turn. How lucky am I? I get to interview Mac Barnett.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about the The Terrible Two?

It’s a book about friendship, and about pranking, and about who we are and what we choose to show to the world. A kid shows up at a new school, determined to establish himself as the local prankster-in-chief, only to discover the position’s already taken. And so begins a prank war of Homeric proportions.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I love telling stories. I love reading books. And I love sleeping in.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

It’s a job that requires tremendous discipline. There’s a big part of personality that’s slack and ungovernable, so getting work done can involve significant internal turmoil.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Read. Read all sorts of books: books you think you’ll like, books you don’t think you’ll like, books you’re halfway through and know you’re not liking. (I often learn more from bad books than good ones.) The more you read the better you get at writing. And that’s true for your whole life, not just while you’re in school.

 

3 thoughts on “Mac Barnett Interview (The Terrible Two)

  1. I had the good fortune to meet Mac at NCTE this year. He certainly brought energy and excitement to the room! My son was excited to get his hands on the book. I think elementary school boys will eat this one up!

    Like

  2. This book has “fun” written ALL over it! (Can’t tell you how much I love those cows! lol) The thought of a “prank war” is compelling all by itself, and I’m wondering how Niles could be Miles’ nemesis! He doesn’t LOOK like a prankster, anyway lol Thanks for the interview, guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

