5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Laurie Thompson

Emmanuel's Dream cover

I’m always on the lookout for new picture books that I will have a powerful impact on my third grade readers. Emmanuel’s Dream fits the bill. I’m super excited to share it with my third graders next week.

I hope you enjoy my interview with Laurie Thompson, author of Emmanuel’s Dream

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about EMMANUEL’S DREAM? (1 sentence)

 This inspirational picture book biography, illustrated by Sean Qualls, tells the true story of Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah, who—with only one leg—bicycled nearly 400 miles around Ghana in order to change how his country perceived people with disabilities.

 2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?  (5 sentences)

 I love being a writer! I love being able to create something brand new that otherwise would not exist.

I love being able to learn something new every day. I love being able to play with puzzles of word choice and structure. I love being able to work in my pajamas. 🙂

 3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer? (4 sentences)

 Writing the first draft is nearly always the hardest part for me, but luckily it also tends to be the shortest. I usually spend a lot of time thinking and planning before I begin writing. Then I write the first draft as fast as I can, so I can get through it as quickly as possible. After the first draft is done, I can relax and enjoy taking a long time to revise and get things just right.

 4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick? (2 sentences)

 I would love to spend a day inside Laini Taylor’s Dreamdark series, especially Blackbringer. I’d want to be the size of Magpie Windwitch and hang out with her and her raucous band of crows.

 5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom? (3 sentences)

Read. Write. Repeat.

05_lauriethompson_PhotoByMaryBalmaceda (2)

Laurie Ann Thompson is the author of Be a Changemaker: How to Start Something That Matters, a how-to guide for teens who want to change the world. An advocate for social justice, Laurie is dedicated to inspiring and empowering young readers.Emmanuel’s Dream is her picture-book debut. Visit her at lauriethompson.com.

 
Follow all the stops on Laurie’s blog tour!
Mon, Jan 12
Great Kid Books
Tues, Jan 13
5 Minutes for Books
Wed, Jan 14
Unleashing Readers
Thurs, Jan 15
Sharpread
Fri, Jan 16
Cracking the Cover  AND  Kirby’s Lane
Sat, Jan 17
Booking Mama
Mon, Jan 19 (MLK Jr bday)
Once Upon a Story
Tues, Jan 20
Proseandkahn
Wed, Jan 21
Geo Librarian
Thurs, Jan 22
Nonfiction Detectives
Fri, Jan 23
The Fourth Musketeer
Mon, Jan 26
NC Teacher Stuff
Tues, Jan 27
Teach Mentor Texts

 

3 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Laurie Thompson

Leave a Reply

