28 Days Trifecta

Mr. Schu, Nerdy Book Club, and I are celebrating more books together in 2015 than ever before. Trifecta Tuesday’s always make me smile, and today’s is no different. 28 Days is a beautiful and important book. I hope you enjoy today’s trifecta!

28 DAYS_cover image

Let’s start with my interview with author Charles R. Smith.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

 

1. Can you tell us a little bit about the 28 Days?

28 Days focuses on 28 events that helped shaped black history and American history. These include various individuals, but also laws that affected the treatment of black people in this country. Including the laws will help kids understand that new laws come about when people challenge an old law due to a unique circumstance. After seeing the same names connected with black history month while growing up as a kid, it was important for me to include new and unfamiliar names and events. I also wanted to make each day it’s own unique entity and have the final day aimed at the reader to remind them that history is made up of extraordinary events done by ordinary people.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

I enjoy learning about a variety of subjects and sharing it with others. I also enjoy telling the story of those whose stories aren’t often told.

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

Finishing what you start.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

I would enjoy slaying monsters alongside Percy Jackson. Maybe I’d be the son of Hermes and use my fleet feet to save people. Or perhaps I would be the sharpshooting archer son of Apollo.

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Writing is all about experience. Young writers may not have as much life experience as an adult, but reading helps cultivate how to express an experience. Therefore, I always tell young writers to read a lot, write a lot and live a lot. If you do those three things, you increase your chances of success.

Head to Mr. Schu’s blog to read his  interview with Shane W. Evanswatch.connect.read.Charles R. Smith is on Nerdy Book Club today.

nerdy monster

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

