Sharp-Schu And The No Phone Contest

Molly Brouillett asked Mr. Schu and me if we’d be up for a no phone contest as a promotion for Tommy Greenwald’s Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting!. It seemed like an okay idea way back in 2014 when she proposed the idea. It doesn’t seem like such a good idea now.

Mr. Schu and I are going to see who can go the longest without using our cell phones for anything other than making phone calls. The whole thing feels very 2004.

I’m sure that you are all wishing us good luck with this crazy challenge. While we struggle to not use our phones be sure to check out my interview with Tommy below, and visit Mr. Schu’s blog to see all of his Tommy Greenwald resources.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

 

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting!?

Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! is a book about a girl who realizes that sometimes, too much communication means not enough connection. I wrote it because I see kids today who love their cell phones so much, and sometimes I worry that they’re so busy looking at their little screens, that they’re missing the big thing called life.  (2)

katief

2. What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

My absolute favorite part about being a writer is going to schools or skyping with schools and talking to the kids. I love kids. I love kidding around with kids but also making them think a little bit. And I hope that after they meet me, they say to themselves, Being a writer is cool! Although Im going to dress better than he does when I grow up.   (5)

3. What’s the hardest thing about being a writer?

Starting a story is very hard. You have to make sure it’s a story that no one has told before, and that it will surprise people. It can be happy, or it can be sad, but it has to surprise people.  (3)

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

I have always been infatuated with THE INVISIBLE MAN by H.G. Wells, and I would love to be him for a day (as long as it’s not the day he dies). (1)

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Remember that an idea is not a story. An idea is only the beginning of a story. So first, think about what happens to that idea — how it takes off, what it does, who it affects, and where it lands. Then you’re ready to dive in and start writing! (4)

 

2 thoughts on “Sharp-Schu And The No Phone Contest

  1. Absolutely LOVING the premise of this book, Tommy. Way to go! I hope it actually has an impact 😀

    And good luck to you and John! It won’t be easy, but you’re pretty tough guys 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

