5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview: Elana Arnold

Last weekend in at the Dublin Literacy Conference I had an opportunity to booktalk Elana’s book and hand my advanced copy to an eager librarian. I can’t help but think about that librarian sitting in her living room falling in love with Elana’s book.

I’m very excited that I got a chance to interview Elana. Enjoy!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Question of Miracles?

Iris Abernathy, the main character in THE QUESTION OF MIRACLES, has a lot to be unhappy about: her best friend has died, her family has moved her from sunny California to rainy Oregon, and she’s both lonely and unwilling to connect with other people. On top of all that, even her hairless cat Charles is miserable. When Iris meets Boris, a kid at her new school, she figures he’s barely better than no friend at all. But when she learns he’s considered by some to be a LITERAL MIRACLE, she starts to wonder… why do some people get miracles, but not others? Can she get a miracle, too? (5 sentences)

question

2. What is your favorite thing about being an author?

My favorite thing about being an author is that I get to live all these lives. Life is too short, in my opinion, and writing allows me to peek into other existences and experience alternate realities. (2 sentences)

3. What is the hardest thing about being an author?

The hardest thing about being an author is sticking with a story when it inevitably turns into an unwieldy, slippery mass. Coming up with ideas is pretty easy, and beginnings are fun, and endings are wonderful to write. But every story has a hard part, like every relationship has hard parts. Sticking with my story through that icky, messy, uncertain space is really, really hard. (4 sentences)

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

If I could visit the world in any book for one day, I would choose Phillip Pullman’s THE GOLDEN COMPASS so I could meet my daemon. (1 sentence)

golden

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Remember that your story is your story; any advice others give you is only advice, NOT an order. Read lots of wonderful books, but try not to compare yourself to other authors. And, be gentle with yourself; there is time. (3 sentences)

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview: Elana Arnold

Leave a Reply

