Special Delivery Trifecta

specialdcover

Happy Trifecta Tuesday! Today Mr. Schu, Nerdy Book Club, and I are celebrating Special Delivery. Special Delivery is a book that is truly written for the kids in our libraries, our homes and in our classrooms. Kids are going to love this beautiful tale that involves a girl’s desire to mail her grandmother an elephant.

Please visit Mr. Schu’s blog to read his interview with Philip Stead.

watch.connect.read.

Philip has written a BEAUTIFUL Nerdy Book Club post.

nerdy monster

Now it’s time for my interview with Mr. Cordell.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Special Delivery?

Philip Stead and I are friends. And we like a lot of the same stuff! Working on a book with my friend who likes a lot of the same stuff that I do was some of the most fun I’ve ever had illustrating.

sdspread1

2. What is your favorite thing about being an artist?

I get to be my own boss and work from home—which means I can stay in my pajamas.

SpecialDelivery3

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an artist?

Putting everything you can into something you care deeply about and having it unfairly criticized (or sometimes even fairly criticized). Which, ok, it hurts a little. But it really isn’t all that hard compared to really hard things a lot of people like police officers, fire fighters, doctors and nurses, construction workers, and school teachers and educators have to do every day. I feel so lucky that I get to make art for a living.

JKT.indd

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

Because it would have to be something totally fantastical and because I’ve had a soft spot for these since I was a kid, I would say some sort of superhero comic book. I pick Spider-man (my boyhood favorite) on the one condition that I get to be Spidey!

spiderman

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Write about the things you know and like from your own life, because your own life is incredibly interesting stuff. Be accepting of sound criticism and learn from it, no matter how hard it is to hear (only then will you improve). Don’t be afraid to take risks and chances with the art you make (try to step away sometimes from some of the things you’re most comfortable expressing). Sometimes when things aren’t working out, the best thing you can do is to take some time away from the project you are struggling with and look at it later with a fresh perspective. Always carry a small notebook and a pen because you never can tell when a great idea will pop into your head. OK, so maybe I cheated a little with my run-on sentences and parentheses. What can I say, I like to embellish! Thanks for having me, Mr. Sharp!

BONUS VIDEO

Be sure to check out this amazing literacy fundraising drive Matt and Philip have created.

3 thoughts on “Special Delivery Trifecta

Leave a Reply

