Reading Roller Girl Post ALA Youth Media Awards

In late January, both the Caldecott and Newbery committees honored a graphic novel. Their monumental decisions have forever changed the way that the world looks at graphic novels.

The first graphic novel that I read post El Deafo winning a Newbery Honor and This One Summer winning a Caldecott Honor was Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl.

I LOVED the book.

I would have loved it if I would have read it before those book committees changed the way we look at graphic novels, but the fact that books like Roller Girl are now a part of the BIG awards discussions make it especially sweet.

51cFRGHIS3L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I know this is a super short blog post.

Sorry about that.

I just wanted to let everyone know that I LOVE living in a world where graphic novels can compete for major book awards.

rollergirl2

One thought on “Reading Roller Girl Post ALA Youth Media Awards

Leave a Reply

