39 Story Treehouse Trifecta – An Interview With Terry Denton

 

Happy Trifecta Tuesday! I’m excited to celebrate the Treehouse series today with Mr. Schu and Nerdy Book Club. My students are madly in love with these books. MADLY IN LOVE. They are some of the most reread books in my entire classroom library.

Check out Mr. Schu’s interview with Treehouse author Andy Griffiths.

watch.connect.read.Andy Griffiths is the guest blogger today on Nerdy Book Club.

nerdy monsterNow it’s my turn. I hope you enjoy my interview with Treehouse illustrator Terry Denton.
IMG_4488-0.PNG

5. Can you tell us a little bit about the Treehouse books?

When we go away to plan our books, Andy will talk through the ideas while I quickly capture them in comic strip form. One time we were working on a story about a guy who is captured by pirates, then gets shipwrecked on a deserted island where he builds a treehouse shelter. But this adventure story wasn’t working so well, so eventually we abandoned it. But we couldn’t let go of the image of the treehouse. We all loved the idea of a series of stories set in a treehouse that just keeps growing bigger and bigger and where anything is possible.

39story

4. What is your favorite thing about being an artist?

I love it when we are planning the next book and I am roughing out the drawings. That is so exciting because we don’t know where it’s heading. 

39story2

But the best bit of my job is when I get to do colour work, like on the covers. I am in heaven whenI am playing with my watercolour paints. 

3. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

My favourite picture book is Dawn by Uri Schulevitz. It is set on the edge of a lake surrounded by beautiful mountains. It is a pretty chilled, but sublime, watercolour world that I’d love to wake up to.

dawn

2. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

For writers and drawers my advice is the same: immerse yourself in your writing or drawing. Love the doing and practice, just a few words or a scribbled drawing, as often as you can in your sketchbook. 

1. What’s the hardest thing about being an artist?

Deadlines are always the hardest part, as with the Treehouse books where I have 2 months to complete more than 400 drawings.

Leave a Reply

