The Qwikpick Papers: The Rat With The Human Face

I fell in love with my first Tom Angleberger book back in the spring of 2011. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda was in our Scholastic Book Fair, so I picked it up for my fourth graders. I took it home that night to check it out, and ended up reading it cover to cover in one sitting. I was hooked.

Through a little bit of research I was able to figure out that Mr. Angleberger had published two previous novels under the pen name Sam Riddleberger. I quickly picked up those books and devoured them. It doesn’t take many pages to realize that Tom is a master at creating characters that middle grade readers can’t help but fall in love with.

Tom’s latest book Qwikpick Papers: The Rat With The Human Face is long overdue. It’s crazy to think that it was 8 years ago that he published the first Qwikpick Papers book. In The Rat With The Human Face Lyle, Marilla, and Dave are back and they are looking for a new adventure.

rat

One of the things that I love most about The Qwikpick Papers is how Tom celebrates kids from that live in the trailer park. At times I think that kids that live in trailers are made to feel inferior to kids that live in houses. Lyle and Marilla live in the trailer park, but that doesn’t define them. This isn’t a book about kids trying to find a better life outside of the trailer park. It’s a book about kids. Kids that want an adventure. They just so happen to live in the trailer park.

I hope that every middle grade classroom and school library purchases this book for their readers.

I hope that kids read this book and fall in love with the characters like I did.

I hope that it makes kids want to go on crazy adventures.

I hope you like The Rat With The Human Face as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

