Little Red Henry Trifecta

I’m a pretty big fan of Linda Urban. When I read a Linda Urban book for the first time I’m always wearing my “Linda Urban Glasses”. These glasses contain a lens that shoots a signal through my eyes, to my brain, and finally to my heart that says: this book is wonderful. These glasses were developed through the reading of every Linda Urban book and every Linda Urban blog post. I believe that the children’s literature community has come to recognize and associate Linda Urban’s name with greatness. I then read the book a second time and I realize that it wasn’t the goggles that made the book so awesome, it was the writing.

Little Red Henry is another wonderful book from Linda Urban.

henry

One of the things that I love so much about Little Red Henry is that we all can learn something from the book. Henry’s family is pretty much nuts. The more time I spend on this Earth, the more I realize that in one way or another all of our families are a little nutty in one way or another. Henry’s family is insanely overprotective. They do everything for him. Basically, Henry is like many of the students in our classrooms. Heck, he’s a lot like the four kids running around the Sharp house. I love that the kids that are hovered over, and families doing the hovering, can walk away from this book knowing that giving a little bit of space is okay. The world is not going to end, and the kid is probably going to be a lot better off because of it.

I would highly recommend that all teachers and parents that need to learn this lesson from Little Red Henry check out this blog post from Kristi Mraz.

 

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 7.51.06 AM

 

I hope that you’ll check out Linda Urban’s Little Red Henry. It’s a super fun book with a few lessons sprinkled in that the kids in our life would probably appreciate that we learned.

Today’s post is part of a trifecta.

Check out Mr. Schu’s interview with illustrator Madeline Valentine, and Linda’s post over at Nerdy Book Club.

One thought on “Little Red Henry Trifecta

  1. I adore Linda Urban’s MG novels and was so pleased to see that she has a picture book to add to my home collection as well. I have a feeling my wee ones will love it (they’re very big on “I can do it myself!”…especially the 2-year-old :)) and I could use a reminder that teaching them independence at an early age is a great way of preparing them for the skills they’ll need later in life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

