Book Trailer Premiere (and bonus interview): The Forbidden Library Series

forbidden

I’m sure that the readers in your life book trailers as much as I do. I’m excited to have the opportunity to premiere the book trailer to Django Wexler’s the Forbidden Library series.

BONUS INTERVIEW!!!! I hope you enjoy my interview with Django Wexler.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about the Forbidden Library series? (5 sentences)
  2. The Forbidden Library starts when Alice’s father disappears at sea, shortly after Alice sees him confront a fairy in their kitchen.  Alice is sent to live with her uncle Geryon, who turns out to be a Reader – a magician who can unlock the magic of special books.  Alice discovers she has the Reader’s gift, too.  She makes friends with Ashes, a cat who helps guard the library, and learns to bind magical creatures and use their powers.  But as she studies as Geryon’s apprentice, she also investigates her father’s disappearance, no matter where that trail might lead her.
  1. What is your favorite thing about being an author? (4 sentences)
    I’m tempted to say being able to sleep as long as I like in the mornings, not having to commute, and a lack of meetings!  (I was a software guy in a previous life.)  But honestly, the best part is talking to people who’ve read the books and enjoyed them.  Getting to see how something I’ve done makes people happy, and seeing all the different takes on the characters and the stories, is really wonderful.
  1. What’s the hardest thing about being an author? (3 sentences)
    Writing, basically, writing is hard.  It’s simultaneously the most fun thing I get to do and occasionally the most frustrating.  When it’s going well, I feel on top of the world, but when I get stuck, or have to rewrite something I thought I had down, I can get very grouchy.
  1. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick? (2 sentences)

bankscoversSomething far-future and science fiction-y, like Iain Banks’ Culture novels or Peter Hamilton’s Void trilogy.  I would take the chance to get myself upgraded with all kind of awesome nanotechnology to impress my friends when I came back.

peterhamilton

  1. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom? (1 sentence)

Basically, you need to read a lot and never stop, and write a lot and never stop, even if it takes you many tries to get where you want to go.

Leave a Reply

