5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Tracey Baptiste

I hope you are having a wonderful and relaxing Sunday. I’m super excited about the book I’m featuring here on sharpread today. The Jumbies is a 2015 book that you do not want to miss. WARNING: it is pretty darn scary. I think it is very hard to do write a middle grade book that is scary, well-written and appropriate for young readers. The Jumbies nailed all three.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Can you tell me a little bit about The Jumbies?

The Jumbies is a mashup of Haitian and Trinidadian folklore and culture. It is inspired by a Haitian folktale, but includes Trinidadian jumbies like the douen and lagahoo. I wrote it because as much as I loved fairy tales when I was a girl, there were no jumbie stories in books, so I wanted to fix that. The main character, Corinne, goes into the forest one day and a jumbie follows her out. The jumbie’s goal is to take over the island starting with Corinne’s family, but Corinne is not having that! (5)

Baptiste_Jumbies_rgb_2MB

2. What is your favorite thing about being an author?

My favorite thing about being an author is making stuff up! A close second is talking with other people who love books. (2)

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author?

These days, the hardest thing about being a writer is dodging phone calls from jumbies who have VERY SERIOUS QUESTIONS for me. Kidding! Writing is really hard for me, and I often get very impatient and want to be done when I still have a lot of work to do.  (3)

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

If I could spend a day in a book it would be a Harry Potter book for sure. Probably book 1, before everything goes bonkers. I’d really like to watch a quidditch match and see if I can dodge the whomping willow. And I hope someone would send me a letter by owl. (4)

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Don’t be afraid to say what you really want to say. (1)

Baptiste-Tracey_credit-to-Latifah-Abdur-Photography_HR_2MB

2 thoughts on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Tracey Baptiste

Leave a Reply

