5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Monica Wellington

I’m super excited to interview Monica Wellington today. Any day that I get a chance to celebrate a picture book is a great day. I think you’ll really dig her book My Leaf Book.

myleafbook

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Interview

5. Can you tell us a little bit about MY LEAF BOOK?

I still have my first leaf book, which I made about 50 years ago.

The leaves are brittle and brown but still very beautiful. I

remember how excited I was to collect as many different kinds of

leaves as I could find on that walk in the woods. I found 21. I

hope My Leaf Book inspires children to make their own leaf

collections and that they keep them for many years, too.

original leaf book 4 original leaf book 3 original leaf book 2 original leaf book

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which

book would you pick?

I recently found out that my great-great-grandmother crossed the

United States from Iowa to Oregon in a covered wagon in 1853,

when she was 10 years old. I loved the Little House of the Prairie

books when I was growing up, so I would like to spend a day

with Laura Ingalls Wilder in her covered wagon to have that

experience myself. It would be amazing but full of hardships. I

think one day would be long enough to go back to those times!

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author and illustrator?

It is very hard when a book you love goes out of print. I recently

took on a huge project to make Crêpes by Suzette available

again by turning it into an app. I never stop caring about my

books.

2. What advice do you have for the young writers in my

classroom? 

Write, then revise, revise, and revise some more. Don’t ever

think it is going to be perfect the first time.

1. What is your favorite thing about being an author and

illustrator? 

I love doing creative work.

Leave a Reply

