5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Will Moses

Who doesn’t love a good fairy tale? I know that most of the students in my classroom and all of the kids at my house are big fans. Kids of these timeless tales will love Will Moses’s Fairy Tales for Little Folks.

I’m excited to share my interview with Will on my blog today!

After you read my interview you should totally head to Will’s website and check out all his beautiful work. I REALLY want to buy one of his puzzles.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

5. Can you tell us a little bit about FAIRY TALES FOR LITTLE FOLKS?

Fairy Tales for Little Folks in many ways is an echo of a book I did several years ago, Will Moses Mother Goose. In both books, I tell the story in words and specific page related illustrations and then again, in an overall double page painting that depicts all of the previous illustrations in one large painting and hopefully does it in an interesting and linear progression. I have noted over the years that little kids are drawn to and seem to light up when looking at one of my paintings. I think the colors and the subject matter help with that and the original thought here, was that children would find it a treat to not only hear the stories but then also be able to pick out the various sub-scenes from the larger paintings. Fairy Tales for Little Folks lends itself very well to the concept with classic, time honored stories, retold and illustrated, in a way that I hope children might relate to more wholeheartedly.

faily.jpeg

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier. I think I could fit in on just about any page or as almost any character in that book. I seem to identify to some degree with many of those portrayed, both the good and the bad. Even today, having read the book several years ago, I often think of the book and its characters and draw from it for inspiration both personal and professional.

cold

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author and illustrator?

Stepping back to check my perspective on what I am writing or paining. Just because I think what I am doing is brilliant it does not necessarily follow that others will think the same. I have to believe in what I am a doing but it is important to remember that others may see my work in a different light than I do.

willmother

2. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Always allow yourself to use your imagination. Always check that your imagination has not gotten the best of you.

1. What is your favorite thing about being an author and illustrator?

The freedom to nap as I find necessary.

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Will Moses

Leave a Reply

