5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Pat Zeitlow Miller

Each night, for a couple of weeks my daughters and I read The Quickest Kid In Clarksville during our bedtime routine. Each night the girls get to pick one picture book to read, and I sometimes pick one, too. It is not super hard for a book to make it to our night reading routine, but it is hard for a book to stay there. A lot of books find their way into the our home, and the girls are always on the lookout for their next favorite book. Many books are read once before they make it to our bookshelf or my classroom. The Quickest Kid In Clarksville was so loved my little ladies that they kept selecting it over and over again.

Can you blame them? The books is lovely.

I’m tickled to interview The Quickest Kid In Clarksville author Pam Zeitlow Miller today here on Sharpread. I hope you enjoy the interview as much as my kids have enjoyed her book.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Quickest Kid In Clarksville?

It’s a book about two girls in Clarksville, Tennessee who want to be just like their idol — hometown hero and Olympic gold-medal sprinter Wilma Rudolph. While they both adore Wilma, they’re initially not so fond of each other. But as they compete to see who’s faster, they learn to work together and even like each other. And, as a bonus, they get to attend Wilma Rudolph’s victory parade. This book is a story of dreams, determination and the power of friendship.

quickestkid.jpg

2. What is your favorite thing about being an author?

I like seeing the stories come to life and make their way from my head to the page. And, I like working with the words until they stories are as perfect and real as I can make them. I also am thrilled whenever I get a letter or an email or see something online about a kid who liked my book. It’s the best feeling in the world.

quickestkidINTERIOR.jpg

3. What’s the hardest thing about being an author?

Fitting it in with everything else in my life. Writing is one of my absolute favorite things to do, but I also work full-time and have a family. So I write late at night or early in the morning or on weekends, and always when I’m very tired.

4. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book, which book would you pick?

Well, not The Hunger Games, I wouldn’t come out alive. I’d like to be in the first Harry Potter book – just to see which house I’d get sorted into.

hp1.jpg

5. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Keep writing no matter what.

Be sure to  check out Pam’s Nerdy Book Club post by clicking on the image below!

nerdy monster

 

Leave a Reply

