10 Minute Review: Tell Me A Tattoo Story

When I was 20 years old I got a tattoo with my girlfriend. She got a moon and a few stars on her foot, and I got an Old English D on my left forearm. I got my tattoo on my forearm because my dad had a sweet motorcycle tattoo on his forearm. My dad is the most amazing person I’ve ever met, so trying to be a little bit more like him is something that I’m always trying to do. The girl with the moon and stars tattoo later became my wife, and every time I see that moon and those stars I think back to that day when we were a couple of kids on a date.

tellmeatattoostory.jpg

That’s my tattoo story.

Allison McGhee has written the beautiful book Tell Me A Tattoo Story. In the book a young boy, curious of his father’s tattoos, gets the background stories to his dad’s ink. Eliza Wheeler has created a gorgeous illustrations that will warm the hearts of young readers.

tattoostoryinterior.jpg

One of the thing that I love most about this book is how it gives readers a glimpse into the beauty of body art. Society’s take on tattoos has changed a lot since my dad got his work done in the early 70s. Many of the kids in our lives (and our homes) have parents with tattoos, and I’m glad that they know have a book that shows just how magical a little body art can be.

I think it just might be time for me to get tattoo number two.

3 thoughts on “10 Minute Review: Tell Me A Tattoo Story

  1. How awesome! Looks like a beautiful book! I totally agree we need more books like this! Can’t wait to read it! Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this. I had many students excited about seeing the man with tattoos in Last Stop on Market Street. Many students commented about tattoos that members of their family have. There is also a mom with tattoos in some of Bob Graham’s books, but other than that, I haven’t seen many in picture books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

