5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Kim Krans

ABC books have always been popular in the Sharp household. There is just something special about them, that I believe helps lead readers towards a love of language. ABC Dream is the latest ABC book to captivate readers in my home. This wordless book invites readers to find words that begin with the given letter on the page. Hunting for words in Kim Krans’s mystifying illustrations will surely draw in readers for years to come.

abcdreamcover

I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to interview Kim on my blog today. I found out in her bio that she goes by  The Wild Unknown. How cool is that? Maybe I should think of something cooler than Colby Sharp to go by.

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

  1. What advice do you have for the young writers/artists in my classroom?  

Be patient and work steadily. I self published ABC Dream five years ago and thought that was the height of its glory. Now the book is published with Random House Children’s and copies are making their way across the globe. Have faith in your project, you never know where the story will lead.

abc-dream-d

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about ABC Dream?

I drew ABC Dream because I wanted to bring magic back into the alphabet. More mystique, more enchantment! I imagined the letters falling asleep at night and dreaming up an entire universe. I tried to draw that world.

abcdream

  1. If you could spend one day inside the world of any book which book would you pick?

Game of Thrones. Sorry but its true! Who doesn’t want to ride on those dragons?

  1. What’s the hardest thing about being a book creator?

Believing in an idea for long enough to see the project through. Finding people (publishers, printers, or designers) who will take the journey with you.

abc-dream-a.jpg

  1. What is your favorite thing about being a book creator?  

Watching the story unfold.

Be sure to check out Kim’s ABC Dream. It is beautiful. AND you should probably follow her on Instagram by clicking on the image below. Her account is filled with awesomeness.

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 9.07.39 PM

 

Leave a Reply

