5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Mariam Gates

I love picture books that get kids moving, and Mariam Gates’s Good Morning Yoga fits into this category perfectly. My hope is that the readers in your life enjoy Good Morning Yoga as much as the young readers in mine.

I hope you enjoy my interview with Mariam Gates!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about GOOD MORNING YOGA?

Good Morning Yoga gives kids a yoga flow they can learn and easily do on their own (or together with an adult). I wanted to create a book that was not about “how to teach yoga to kids” but rather gave them a way to immediately engage with the poses. The benefits (for all of us) for adding a little space between our reactions and our actions through any mindfulness practices are vast. Through Sarah Jane Hinders’ magical and vibrant illustrations, Good Morning Yoga teaches kids breathing exercises and yoga poses to help them to focus and feel calm inside. And most importantly, it’s fun! 

Good Morning Yoga-UPDATED cover hi-res.jpg

2. What is your favorite thing about writing for kids?

I love the fun and playful quality of writing for kids. It makes everything I encounter a potential story idea (a missing sock on an adventure, a canary who wants to be a rock star, a cookie delivery service run by squirrels). 

3. What’s the hardest thing about writing for kids?

Over-thinking it. Luckily I work with kids every week so I have instant feedback on what they find interesting (and what they don’t). Writing deadlines also help me so much because they make me focus on what I am writing rather than second-guessing it.

4. If you could spend one day inside a book, which book would you pick?

I would spend the day with all the zany creatures in Oh the Thinks You Can Think! by Dr. Seuss. 

5. What advice do you have for the young creators in my classroom?

Be your own biggest fan! Writing and creating of any kind can be lonely at times; you have to decide that what you are doing is meaningful and good, even if only to you. I wrote my first full-length “children’s story” at 9 years-old about a baby rhino who would not eat her lunch. I still think it’s a great story!

Follow the tour:
Wed, Feb 24
Teach Mentor Texts
Fri, Feb 26
Where Imagination Grows
Mon, Feb 29
A Rup Life
Tues, Mar 1
Proseandkahn
Wed, Mar 2
Kid Lit Frenzy
Thurs, Mar 3
5 Minutes for Books
Fri, Mar 4
Once Upon a Story
Mon, Mar 7
Wrapped in Foil
Tues, Mar 8
Sharpread
Wed, Mar 9
A Foodie Bibliophile in Wanderlust
Thurs, Mar 10
Unleashing Readers
Fri, Mar 11
Children’s Book Review
Tues, Mar 15
The Library Fanatic
Leave a Reply

