5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Lauren Castillo

I think that Lauren Castillo is pretty awesome. It is an honor to call her a friend. I’ve been in love with her work long before we became friends. One of the first books I ever talked about on this blog was her picture book Melvin and the Boy. There is something about Lauren’s illustrations that make readers feel like they are home. If I had to place an illustrator’s books in a rocket and send them off to space for aliens to discover, I would probably send out Lauren’s books. Wouldn’t you want an alien to view our world through Lauren’s art? I know I would.

The one and only Lauren Castillo was kind enough to answer my questions about her latest project, Twenty Yawns. Thank you, Ms. Castillo!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

My questions are in black, and Lauren’s responses are in red.

1. Can you tell us a little bit about Twenty Yawns?

Twenty Yawns is about a girl named Lucy and her parents who spend a very long day at the beach. They come home, and everyone is exhausted except for Lucy who can’t fall asleep. So she goes and collects her stuffed animals and brings them to bed. Now, surrounded by her dear friends, she is able to peacefully drift off to sleep. I hope the book will be a comfort to many little readers.

TWENTY YAWNS_Cover updated.jpg

2. What is best part of your job?

The best part of my job is waking up every day and knowing that I will eventually be able to share the work I’m doing now with kids, and that there is a possibility it will inspire one of those kids, and that is everything I need to keep going.

lc1

3. What’s the hardest part of your job?

The hardest part of my job is also one of the most rewarding parts. A lot of research is required to make a book, whether fiction or non fiction. I learn something new with every illustration I make.

 

4. Why should people come to Nerd Camp?

There’s a school full of passionate educators and book creators, sharing their knowledge and their love of literature. What more do you want?

lc2

5. What advice do you have for the young creators in my classroom?

Write about (and draw about) what you know. And whenever you get stuck, take a walk. Observe the world around you. I guarantee you will be inspired to write or draw something new.

 

Lauren Castillo is the illustrator of many books, including The Reader by Amy Hest. She has also written and illustrated several books, including Caldecott Honor book Nana in the City and The Troublemaker. She lives in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. To learn more, visit www.laurencastillo.com.
Twitter: @studiocastillo.

laurencastillo_headshot (2)

Follow the tour!

Click here to see all the tour stops!

 

Check out the activity kit!

 

Leave a Reply

