Mrs. Miller Visits Parma

Last week, my class had the pleasure of spending the day with Donalyn Miller. Mrs. Miler visited our school earlier in the year and a few times last year. It was a joy to spend the day with my amazing students and my dear friend.

If you’ve ever attended a conference that Donalyn is speaking at, you probably noticed that she doesn’t roll into town to speak and then roll out of town. She attends sessions because she has a desire to learn and grow. It is one of the things I like most about her. When she visits my classroom, we don’t just read all day. We do what we normally do. We read, we write, we think. I loved watching Donalyn solve some fraction problems with the students. She even tried to teach them how to reduce fractions!

donalynfractions

Our next read aloud is going to be Liesl Shurtliff’s Rump. I like to read my students Paul O Zelinsky’s Rumpelstiltskin before we start Rump to help give them context to the fairy tale.

rump

Donalyn asked if she could read Paul’s book to my students. She led a wonderful read aloud that left my students fascinated with the numbers 3 and 7 and their role in fairy tales.

donalynpaulo

In the afternoon, a couple of my students interviewed Donalyn for their blogs. It was adorable.

donalyninterview.jpg

Donalyn types responses to interview questions.

I feel very blessed that my students got to spend the day with Donalyn. It sort of blew them away when they found out that someone can make a living traveling around the world talking to educators and kids about reading.

One thought on “Mrs. Miller Visits Parma

Leave a Reply

