5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Randall de Seve

 

It has been a while since I’ve ran a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 interview here on the blog, and I’ve missed them. Thankfully, I had the chance to interview Randall about her beautiful new book A Fire Truck Name Red.

Enjoy!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about A FIRE TRUCK NAMED RED?

In A FIRE TRUCK NAMED RED, a little boy named Rowan (Gaelic for “red”) wants a shiny new fire truck toy for his birthday. Instead, his grandfather gives him his crusty, old truck, and the promise to fix it up “better than new.” But what could be better than new for a child? That’s the central question of this story. And as Rowan helps to restore Red while listening to Papa’s exciting boyhood adventures with his beloved toy, he answers it: older things and people with stories can be the best of all. (5)

A FIRE TRUCK NAMED RED_cover image.jpg

2. What is the best part of your job?

More than anything, I love reading my stories to children. I love seeing their squirmy bodies settle into the imaginary worlds I’ve created for them. (2)

firetruck2

3. What is the hardest part of your job?

It can be so hard to start a new story! Sometimes I have an idea, and I walk around with it for weeks (or longer), waiting for that first fragile line to come. I know that if I rush it, if I make a false start, I might ruin it. I might break the spell and end up with an overworked mess. (4)

firetruck3.jpg

4. Tell us your first reaction to when you saw Bob Staake’s art for A FIRE TRUCK NAMED RED.

Yes– it’s absolutely perfect! (1)

firetruck

5. What advice do you have for young readers and writers?

Readers, keep reading; only good can come of it. Writers, ideas can spring from anywhere, anyone, anything. Keep your eyes and ears open, and when you find inspiration, grab it (in a notebook) before it flees. (3)

Randall de Seve_author photo credit Larry Ford.jpg

Randall de Seve

Leave a Reply

