5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Brian Farrey

A few weeks ago I finished Brian Farrey’s awesome middle grade novel The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse. I found Brian’s world fascinating, and I found myself trying to figure out the mystery even when I wasn’t reading the book.

It was a lot of fun interviewing Brian for today’s post. Enjoy!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

1. Can you tell us a little bit about THE SECRET OF DREADWILLOW CARSE ?

I wrote THE SECRET OF DREADWILLOW CARSE for anyone who was ever told not to ask questions and I hope that they walk away understanding how important it is to be curious.

dreadwillow

2. What is best part about being a writer?

The best part about being a writer is playing with words. It’s not just throwing a bunch of letters down on the page and hoping they make sense. It’s playing. It’s writing and re-writing and playing and playing to find just the right way to say what absolutely needs to be said.

3. What’s the hardest part of being a writer?

The hardest part of being a writer is dealing with the voices in your head that tell you your writing is horrible. All writers have these voices. I silence mine with a very liberal consumption of chocolate.

4. If you could spend one day living in the world of a book, which book would you pick?

If I could live in any book’s world, I’d spend the day fighting corruption in the magician government and brokering peace between the humans and djinn in Jonathan Stroud’s Bartimaeus books. I probably wouldn’t get much accomplished in a single day but I’d give it my all.

stroud.png

5. What advice do you have for the young creators in my classroom?

Here is my advice for young creators: don’t give up. Ignore the voices in your head that try to trick you into stopping. Ignore anyone who tells you you’re not good enough to do what you’re trying to do. There’s a quote attributed to Thomas Edison that goes: “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”  When you create and fail, start again with Way #10,001.

 

Leave a Reply

