5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Kate Beasley

 

Earlier this week my pal Travis Jonker and I premiered the first episode  of our new Season of The Yarn. In this season we are featuring Kate Beasley and her book Gertie’s Leap to Greatness. You can check it out by clicking on the image below.

attachment-1

It seems like it has been way too long since Mr. Schu and I have done a trifecta. I’m glad we’re back on the wagon today sharing posts on Ms. Beasley’s Gertie’s Leap to Greatness.

Check out Mr. Schu’s post on his site!

watch.connect.read

The editor of Gertie’s Leap to Greatness, Grace Kendall, has written a beautiful post about the book over at Nerdy Book Club.

nerdy monster

My turn! I asked Kate my standard 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 questions. Check it out below!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about Gertie’s Leap to Greatness?

Gertie lives in Alabama with her dad and her great-aunt Rae. When Gertie finds out that her mom, who abandoned her when she was a baby, is leaving town for good, she decides to prove that she doesn’t need a mom anyway. Now, she’s on a mission to be the best fifth grader in the universe. This mission hits a snag when a new girl, Mary Sue Spivey, moves to town. (4)

GERTIE'S LEAP TO GREATNESS_cover image.JPG

  1. What is best part about being an author?  

Sometimes I’m just typing away, and my characters surprise me by saying and doing the most fascinating things. It’s like I’m not coming up with the story—I’m just recording it. I LOVE that feeling. (3)

tip-4.jpg

  1. What’s the hardest part of being an author?

A lot of times I can’t find the right words to say what I want, and I get mad at myself. Then I have to stop being mad at myself before I can move on. (2)

tip-5.jpg

  1. If you could spend one day living in the world of a book, which book would you pick?  

Circus Mirandus. (1)

circus.jpg

  1. What advice do you have for the young writers in my classroom?

Your work is always better when you’re writing about something you’re interested in. So, whatever you’re working on, try to find something about it that makes it interesting to YOU, and then it will be interesting to other people, too. Also, don’t get mad at yourself. I can tell you from experience that it doesn’t help. And please please please know that you can do this; I believe in you. (5)

 

One thought on “5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Kate Beasley

Leave a Reply

