5 Early Readers/Chapter Books That I’m Nominating For A Nerdy

Early readers and chapter books became a huge part of my life when I moved from fourth to third grade. My students fall hard for chapter books series, and some of their favorite characters can be found in early readers. In today’s post I’ll share the five books I’m nominating for a Nerdy.

nerdy

Click here to nominate your favorite 2016 books for a Nerdy.

Weekends With Max and His Dad

By: Linda Urban

I read this book aloud to my third graders last year. It was a HUGE hit. I’m hopeful that we’ll get a few more books about Max before too long.

max.jpg

Where Are You Going, Baby Lincoln?

Words By: Kate DiCamillo

Pictures By: Chris Van Dusen

This book made me want to jump on a random train to see where it would take me. It is always a joy to spend time in words written by Ms. DiCamillo.

babylincoln

We Are Growing!

By: Laurie Keller

Good luck to the Geisel committee. I thought for sure that Mo Willems would take the prize with the Thank You Book, but Laurie Keller has created something magical here that just might give Mo a run for his money.

wearegrowing.jpg

The Great Cookie Fiasco

By: Dan Santat

Teaching fractions is not my favorite thing. This book is my all-time favorite thing about fractions. So fun! So funny!

cookiefiasco

Dance! Dance! Underpants!

By: Bob Shea

The scene where Butter Bear goes to the bathroom is legendary.

balletcat

Click here to see the books I’m nominating for a Middle Grade Fiction Nerdy

Click here to see the books I’m nominating for a Non Fiction Picture Book Nerdy

Click here to see the books I’m nominating for a Fiction Picture Book Nerdy

Leave a Reply

