Chapter 1: Why I Bought These Books

We have a dinosaur bank in my classroom that loves to eat change. Most of the change that he eats comes from my pockets, and sometimes my students throw a quarter in his mouth. Yesterday I emptied him out, and took the change to the grocery store where they traded me for $24 in cold hard cash.

IMG_0913.JPG

I thought it would be fun to start a little series on my blog where I share why I buy the books that I buy for my classroom library. Maintaining a classroom library is something that I think about each and every day. It is an evolving process that changes based on my current students, and (hopefully) growing understandings about children’s literature and teaching young reading.

img_0912.jpg

I had enough money to pick up three books yesterday at a book shop. My students are going to be so excited to read them!

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made

By: Stephan Pastis

timmy.jpg

The Timmy Failure series is one that many of my third graders don’t read until the second half of the school year. Many of them aren’t quite ready for it at the start of the year. A few weeks ago, one of my students fell hard for the series. He has read all of the books in the seires that I had, and he has been pestering other educators in the building for books in the series that I don’t have. I use to have them all, but a couple of them have gone missing. Timmy Failure Mistakes Were Made will be sitting on his desk when he walks in this morning.

Olga And The Smelly Things From Nowhere

By: Elise Gravel

olga.jpeg

This book just came out a few weeks ago, and it is crazy hot in my classroom. Our copy is already starting to age, and the demand for the book is so high that we needed a second copy. By the end of the year, most of my kids will end up reading this book (at least once!).

The Bad Guys in Mission Unpluckable

By: Aaron Blabey

badguys.jpg

I have two copies of book one in The Bad Guys series, and my students are absolutely crazy about it. During fall conferences I had a 10 minute conversation with a parent about how much he loved reading the first book at home with his child. Hearing about a parent reading one of our classroom library books with one of my students was music to my ears.

******************************************************

What new books are you brining into your classroom/school library? I’d love to know how you decide what books to purchase.

5 thoughts on “Chapter 1: Why I Bought These Books

  1. What a great idea for blog posts! My most recent purchases included 2 Bad Guys books, the latest Piper Green, Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake (just out in soft cover) and Red by Liesl Shurtliff now in soft cover. Piper Green is beloved in my room by a few girls who are talking it up to others.

    Like

  2. My most recent additions to my 1-4 library are the Elephant and Piggie books. It’s my 1st year at this school and they had zero before now. Of course they’re already checked out 😉❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

