5 Things I Thought About After School

class.jpg

Some things I thought about on my way home from school:

1. It doesn’t matter how many books you have in your classroom library, it is never enough. My classroom library is pretty big, and I have a lot of great books. For some reason, every time I think about my classroom library I stress out about the books that I don’t have. I got angry with myself today for not having Grace Lin’s Ling & Ting. How do I not have those books? ARG!

2. I’m really going to miss my students this summer. We still around a month of school left, but as we inch closer to mid-May, I am starting to come to terms with the fact that I only have so many days left with this group of kids. Sure, I’ll see them in the halls, and I’ll probably reconnect with a bunch of them on social media when they get older, but it will never be the same as spending the day with them in our classroom.

3. They have learned a lot. I’m not a huge fan of all the end of the year assessments, but it is fun to reflect how much they’ve grown during our time together. I’m proud of them. They have put in so much work this year. They’ve earned all the growth they have achieved.

4. They love stories. We finished Because of Winn-Dixie today, and boy was it an emotional journey. They weren’t ready for a book like Winn-Dixie at the start of the year, but their hearts and their souls ate it up the last few weeks. Kate DiCamillo was right when she said that stories connect us.

5. My classroom will never look like the classrooms I see on Instagram. I was not blessed with the neat gene. Looking at beautiful and fancy classrooms makes me happy, but I have come to the realization that I will never have that sort of space. We’ll always have papers in random places, and pencils on the floor. Books will always be in the wrong spot, and some of them will be upside down. I’m cool with that. As long you find books wherever you look, I’ll be happy.

6. I have the best career in the world.

6 thoughts on “5 Things I Thought About After School

  1. Colby,

    “They weren’t ready for a book like Winn-Dixie at the start of the year,” man…that’s a sentence that leaves you wanting more. What was missing?

    Like

  2. Learning is messy, books are messy, kids are messy, teachers are messy ~ that’s reality 🙂 And not much on social media is real, so no use comparing to that! I always feel like I don’t have enough books in my library too……..I mean, 11,556 SOUNDS like a lot of books, but it’s not ALL the books. We all want all the books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

