5 Things I Loved About Last Week

I haven’t written a “5 Things I Loved About Last Week” post in a while. I miss reflecting on the week as a whole, so I decided to try and get back into the swing of things.

1. Worm Club A couple of my students started a worm club last week. How cool is that? They are all about hunting worms, but never hurting worms. It is fun to see kids come together around their passions. Even if their passions are things like worms.

A couple of my students started a worm club last week. How cool is that? They are all about hunting worms, but never hurting worms. It is fun to see kids come together around their passions. Even if their passions are things like worms.

2. Pioneer Day

My third grade daughter’s class spent a day last week in a one-room school house. She was so excited for the day, and it did not disappoint. I’m thankful that she has a teacher that creates unforgettable moments.

IMG_1730.JPG

3. Mr. Lemoncello’s Great Library Race

On Friday, I finished Chris Grabenstein’s forthcoming Mr. Lemoncello book. The third book in the series. I absolutely loved it. Kids are going to be so happy jumping back into this series, and they will learn a whole lot about how failure can be a good thing.

greatlibraryrace.jpg

4. Bearded Dragon

We spent pretty much all of Tuesday taking the state test. It was a looonnggg day. We finished with about 20 minutes left in the day. One of my students had his dad bring in his bearded dragon. We spent the last part of our day with the dragon, and it was awesome. The kids loved thinking about how the bearded dragon’s physical adaptations. It helped turn a long day into a good day.

5. My Readers

I love my readers. I love that hearing about the books that they are reading, and my heart sings when I think about how much they have grown this year as readers. We only have three weeks left, and that isn’t enough time for me. I’m going to miss them. They are ready for fourth grade, but I am not ready to say goodbye.

IMG_1643 (1).JPG

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week

  1. I have to tell you, Colby, so far the best part of my day has been watching yours and John’s “Happy Saturday” videos. They totally put big smiles on my face 😀 Thank you for that!

    Love the Worm Club and can’t help but wonder who came up with it and what sparked the idea, and your daughter looks adorable in that outfit. It had to be SO much fun living a “Little House on the Prairie” kind of school day 😀

    Like

  2. So looking forward to the newest book in the Mr. Lemoncellos series. I have to say that your best part of my day videos are inspiring. Can’t wait to see you present at the Scholastic Reading Summit in Seattle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

