5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Interview: Corinna Luyken

9780735227927.jpg

The Book Of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken is brilliant. I hope to teach until I’m super old, and I will read this book to every student that I teach for the rest of my career. This book is going to help kids in so many ways. I LOVE THIS BOOK!

Corinna was kind enough to answer a handful of my interview questions. Thank you, Corinna!

5,4,3,2,1 Interview

  1. Can you tell us a little bit about The Book of Mistakes? (5)

 The Book of Mistakes begins with one mistake.  That mistake leads to more mistakes, and eventually, to some good ideas.  

 While this is a book about mistakes in art (and life), it is also a book about perception.  About how we become who we are.  It is about limits and transformation, potential and possibility.

BoM 40-41.jpg

  1. What is the best part about being a book creator?  (3)

There are two best parts.  The first is that moment of watching something emerge from nothing.  The other is finding out that something I’ve made has touched the heart of another person.

BoM 36-37.jpg

  1. What’s the hardest part of being a book creator? (1)

Practicing patience can be difficult, and the book industry moves slowly!

  1. If you could spend one day living in the world of a book, which book would you pick? (4)

This is not an easy question, because my answer will change tomorrow.  But for today, I’ll say Pool by JiHyeon Lee.  To make a new friend, to explore underwater with all those strange fish, and then to meet that enormous white creature with the big blue eye. Oh my!

pool.jpg

  1. What advice do you have for the young creators in my classroom? (2)

Be yourself.  Your job as an artist (and human being) is only and always to be the very best YOU that you can be.

2142031_luyken_corinna.jpg

Leave a Reply

