How Does Your District Help You Grow?

I’m always fascinated by how people grow as educators. In today’s video I talk about the coaching model that Battle Creek Lakeview had in place when I was a teacher there. Having a coach was the single most important thing in my development as a teacher.

What sort of things has your district helped you grow as an educator? Let me know in the comments down below!

Advertisements

They Will Never Forget the Books We Read Aloud to Them

One of the easiest ways to get kids to fall in love with reading is through an amazing read aloud. I hope that we all kind find time in our day to read aloud to our readers.

I had the opportunity to see a bunch of my former students at a book event, and all of them wanted to talk about the books we read aloud together when I was their fourth grade teacher.

Power Forward by Hena Khan | Book Talk

Looking for great “sports books”? You are going to want to add Hena Khan’s Power Forward to your list. I read it one sitting. It was fantastic!

Purchase the book through Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781534411982

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2HRqYsw

Book description (from the publisher):

From the critically acclaimed author of Amina’s Voice comes the first book in an exciting new chapter book series about a fourth-grader with big dreams of basketball stardom.

Fourth grader Zayd Saleem has some serious hoop dreams. He’s not just going to be a professional basketball player. He’s going to be a star. A legend. The first Pakistani-American kid to make it to the NBA. He knows this deep in his soul. It’s his destiny. There are only a few small things in his way.

For starters, Zayd’s only on the D-team. (D stands for developmental, but to Zayd it’s always felt like a bad grade or something.) Not to mention, he’s a bit on the scrawny side, even for the fourth grade team. But his best friend Adam is on the Gold Team, and it’s Zayd’s dream for the two of them to play together.

His mom and dad don’t get it. They want him to practice his violin way more than his jump shot. When he gets caught blowing off his violin lessons to practice, Zayd’s parents lay down the ultimate punishment: he has to hang up his high tops and isn’t allowed to play basketball anymore.

As tryouts for the Gold Team approach, Zayd has to find the courage to stand up for himself and chase his dream.
Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

The Brilliant Deep: Rebuilding the World’s Coral Reefs by Kate Messner and Matthew Forsythe | Book Talk

The Brilliant Deep by Kate Messner and Matthew Forsythe is one of my favorite 2018 picture book biographies. I was captivated by Ken Nedimyer’s story.

Purchase the book through Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781452133508

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2w9Pcsz

Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Book description (from the publisher):

All it takes is one: one coral gamete to start a colony, one person to make a difference, one idea to change the world. The ongoing efforts to save and rebuild the world’s coral reefs–with hammer and glue, and grafts of newly grown coral–are the living legacy of Ken Nedimyer, founder of the Coral Restoration Foundation. Kate Messner and Matthew Forsythe tell the true story of the coral restoration pioneer in this brilliant tribute to the wonders of nature and the power of human hope.

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

Donalyn Miller and Veera Hiranandani talk The Night Diary

I had a blast hanging out with Donalyn Miller and Veera Hiranandani at the North Texas Teen Book Book Festival. Donalyn’s The Book Whisperer has probably been the most important book in my development as a teacher. Veera’s The Night Diary is one of the best 2018 middle grade novels that I have read. You MUST check it out!

Click below to purchase Night Diary from IndieBound.org
https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780735228511

If you’d like to purchase the book from Amazon, click on the affiliate link below:
https://amzn.to/2KjfsUh

Click below to purchase The Book Whisperer from Indiebound.org
https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780470372272

If you’d like to purchase The Book Whisperer from Amazon, click on the affiliate link below:
https://amzn.to/2HYjGCy

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty | Book Talk

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy AcAnulty is a must read 2018 middle grade novel. I devoured it! I needed to read it as quickly as possible so that I could get it into the hands of my students. The girl that is currently reading it in class is also loving it. I bet you know some readers that will love this book, too.

The Miscalculations of LIghtning Girl by Stacy AcAnulty is a must read 2018 middle grade novel. I devoured it! I needed to read it as quickly as possible so that I could get it into the hands of my students. The girl that is currently reading it in class is also loving it. I bet you know some readers that will love this book, too.

Purchase the book through Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781524767570
If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2HL7aTF

Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ
Book description (from the publisher):

A lightning strike gave her a super power…but even a super genius can’t solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test–middle school

Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that’s not a math textbook ). Lucy’s not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy’s life has already been solved. Unless there’s been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty’s smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

Creating a Classroom Library From Scratch: Tips for New Teachers

I’m pumped to be today’s stop on the It’s All About the Books Blog Tour.

I asked Clare Landrigan and Tammy Mulligan to share some tips that they have for new teachers trying to build a classroom library from scratch. Their response is amazing! Check it out in the video below.

Check out Clare and Tammy’s It’s All About The Books by clicking on the affiliate link below:

https://amzn.to/2HVycbx

Check out the other videos in my One Question With Mr. Sharp series:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWj2_u-QJW6NR-21fhOvaWWJ

 

claretammy.jpg

Hanging Out With Pablo Cartaya

I had an amazing time hanging out with Pabol Cartaya at the North Texas Teen Book Festival last weekend. He is such a great dude! After our panel, we sat down in front of the video camera and talked about his next book: Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish.

If you’d like to preorder Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish, please click on the Indiebound.org link below.

https://www.indiebound.org/book/97811…

If you’d rather purchase the book on Amazon, please click on the affiliate link below. https://amzn.to/2Fo2K2S

 

The Third Mushroom by Jennifer L. Holm | Book Talk

Jennifer L. Holm is my favorite author. Watching her books find their way into the hearts of my readers brings me tremendous joy. I hope that you’ll consider adding The Third Mushroom to your collection. It is fantastic.

Purchase the book through Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781524719807

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2I99Zip

Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ
The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN
Book description (from the publisher):

Ellie’s grandpa Melvin is a world-renowned scientist . . . in the body of a fourteen-year-old boy. His feet stink, and he eats everything in the refrigerator–and Ellie is so happy to have him around. Grandpa may not exactly fit in at middle school, but he certainly keeps things interesting. When he and Ellie team up for the county science fair, no one realizes just how groundbreaking their experiment will be. The formula for eternal youth may be within their reach And when Ellie’s cat, Jonas Salk, gets sick, the stakes become even higher. But is the key to eternal life really the key to happiness? Sometimes even the most careful experiments yield unexpected–and wonderful–results.

_______________________________________________________________________

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT