Santa Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins | Video Book Talk

Ryan T. Higgins’s Bruce is becoming one of the most beloved characters in my fifth grade classroom. Santa Bruce does not disappoint. Readers are in for a treat when they read about Bruce being mistaken for Santa, and all the shenanigans that he has to deal with.

Disney Book Group is partnering with me for a giveaway! Details on how to enter in the video.

Advertisements

Thirty Minutes Over Oregon |Video Book Talk

Thirty Minutes Over Oregon is a fascinating 2018 nonfiction picture book about a Japanese pilot bombing the continental United States during World War II. I had no idea that this ever happened, and I think kids will be fascinated by the story.

Purchase the book through Indie Bound:https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780544430761

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2wTrmhT

Book description (from the publisher):

In this important and moving true story of reconciliation after war, beautifully illustrated in watercolor, a Japanese pilot bombs the continental U.S. during WWII—the only enemy ever to do so—and comes back 20 years later to apologize.

The devastating attack on Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, drew the United States into World War II in 1941. But few are aware that several months later, the Japanese pilot Nobuo Fujita dropped bombs in the woods outside a small town in coastal Oregon. This is the story of those bombings, and what came after, when Fujita returned to Oregon twenty years later, this time to apologize.

    This remarkable true story, beautifully illustrated in watercolor, is an important and moving account of reconciliation after war.

Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids:

https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

If This Were a Story by Beth Turley | Video Book Talk

If This Were a Story is a magical middle grade novel that is going to be loved by so many middle grade readers. I’m so glad I decided to read it.

Purchase the book through Indie Bound:https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781534420618

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2NUOJ1K

Book description (from the publisher):

In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories in this sweet and sincere debut.

Tenacious. That means strong-willed. My mother calls me that.

I wish I felt the same way.

If this were a story, I would discover I was a direct descendent of a famous soldier who won countless battles and protected hundreds of people. This resilience running through my veins wouldn’t be damaged by the notes; it would fight off bullies and prevent my parents from yelling at each other.

But this is not a story. This is real life. My life as ten-year-old Hannah Geller, who is the only girl in fifth grade to have little red bumps on her face, is unable to let the sad thoughts escape her mind, and leaves heads-up pennies wherever she can to spread good luck.

And who also finds magic in the most unlikely of places.
Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ
Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids:

https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

The Day You Begin | Video Book Talk + GIVEAWAY

The Day You Begin by Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael Lopez is magical. I hope that all kids get a chance to experience this book with their classmates. Please check out my video book talk below. Giveaway details can be found in the video. 

Purchase the book through Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780399246531

If you’d rather purchase the video from Amazon you can find an affiliate link for that here:

https://amzn.to/2MJeghM

Book description (from the publisher):

There will be times when you walk into a room

and no one there is quite like you.

There are many reasons to feel different. Maybe it’s how you look or talk, or where you’re from; maybe it’s what you eat, or something just as random. It’s not easy to take those first steps into a place where nobody really knows you yet, but somehow you do it.

Jacqueline Woodson’s lyrical text and Rafael López’s dazzling art reminds us that we all feel like outsiders sometimes-and how brave it is that we go forth anyway. And that sometimes, when we reach out and begin to share our stories, others will be happy to meet us halfway.

Check out my 2018 Middle Grade Novel Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWhViM7BR0enfqBNMcZ_Jxpf

Check out my 2018 Picture Book Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLM5ylqxs3RWileOTtdP8cBQoFjI0ZtLwJ

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids:

https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

Have you subscribed to my newsletter? Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

Setting Up My Fifth Grade Classroom: Day 1

Setting up a classroom for a new school year always takes more time than I think it will. I blame the books. I had an awesome time getting my room set up for the upcoming school year.

I wrote a book about book access with my good friend Donalyn Miller. If you’d like to pre-order the book just click on the image of the cover below.

gamechanger

5 Tips For The 2018-2019 School Year

I am starting to get excited for the 2018-2019 school year. In this video I share 5 things that I am going to work on in the upcoming school year. Hopefully you’ll find one or two that might help you out.

Books mentioned in this video:

Being the Change by Sara K. Ahmed: https://amzn.to/2Lp8KiW

180 Days by Penny Kittle and Kelly Gallagher https://amzn.to/2NzBUZY

Kids First From Day One by Kristine Mraz and Christine Hertz https://amzn.to/2AdNW9W

Check out my books below:

The Creativity Project: https://amzn.to/2Nz7Ldl

Game Changer! Book Access for all Kids: https://amzn.to/2JFt1M9

Thanks for tuning in! Let me know if you have any questions, or if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

I Bought a Bunch of a Books at a Scholastic Reading Summit

I love shopping for books! A couple of weeks ago I was at the Chicago Scholastic Reading Summit. They had a pretty sweet book fair there. It was similar to your typical book fair, but it also had tables of books created by Scholastic book lovers John Schu and Donalyn Miller. During one of the breaks in the day, I bought a bunch of books. Check out what books I got in the video below.

In other news, my next book is available for pre-order. I had so much fun working on Game Changer: Book Access for all Kids with Donalyn Miller. She is brilliant, and I learned a ton working with her on this book. If you liked to pre-order a copy, just click on the cover below.

gamechanger.jpg

Check out a description of the book from the publisher:

Literacy advocates with a deep passion for books—bestselling author Donalyn Miller and 5th grade teacher Colby Sharp—showcase the power of children’s access to books, providing teachers and administrators with the tools and information they need to increase children’s meaningful engagement with books and to launch or sustain book access initiatives in their communities.

Through research and testimonials from voices in the field and their own classroom experiences, Miller and Sharp provide practical and resourceful information on a range of topics, including examples of successful school and classroom libraries, the power of book ownership, the importance of access to culturally diverse books, and meaningful family-community reading engagement.

In Game Changer! You’ll Find:

    • Years of independent reading classroom program know-how and research for educators at every level.
    • Routines, rituals, and lessons for developing a community of readers in schools and classrooms.
    • Practical tips on ways to develop children’s positive reading identities, reading engagement, and academic growth.
    • Tactics to increase access to and use of diverse children’s and young adult literature and an appreciation for its role in children’s literacy development.
    • Suggestions for fostering independent reading habits at school and at home.