5 Prompts From The Creativity Project to Try With Your Students

I have had so much fun using The Creativity Project with my students. They LOVE responding to the prompts, and I have been blown away by what they are creating.

Please check out the video (below). In the video I share 5 of the prompts from the book that my students have LOVED this year.

Advertisements

10 Picture Books I Read My Students in September

I love reading my students picture books! In this video, I share 10 books that I read them in September. To see the first ten picture books I read them click on the link below.

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up. http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching.

Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

Roll With It by Jamie Sumner | Book Talk

I am a huge fan of Jamie Sumner’s Roll With It. As soon as I finished it, I gave a passionate book talk to my fifth graders. When I asked them if anyone wanted to read it, a whole bunch of hands shot up in the air. I cannot wait to find out if they liked the book as much as I did.

Book description (from the publisher):

The story of an irrepressible girl with cerebral palsy whose life takes an unexpected turn when she moves to a new town.

Ellie’s a girl who tells it like it is. That surprises some people, who see a kid in a wheelchair and think she’s going to be all sunshine and cuddles. The thing is, Ellie has big dreams: She might be eating Stouffer’s for dinner, but one day she’s going to be a professional baker. If she’s not writing fan letters to her favorite celebrity chefs, she’s practicing recipes on her well-meaning, if overworked, mother.

But when Ellie and her mom move so they can help take care of her ailing grandpa, Ellie has to start all over again in a new town at a new school. Except she’s not just the new kid—she’s the new kid in the wheelchair who lives in the trailer park on the wrong side of town. It all feels like one challenge too many, until Ellie starts to make her first-ever friends. Now she just has to convince her mom that this town might just be the best thing that ever happened to them!

If you’d like to purchase the book you can find an affiliate link here.

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids by Donalyn Miller and Me

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!)

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

 

5 Things I Learned From My Students’ Readers Notebooks

I am trying to do a better job of making reading notebooks part of what we do in class. We have a long ways to go, but I feel that we are off to a pretty good start.

If you have any tips for helping my readers more authentically write about their reading, please let me know in the comments below.

In this video, I share some of the things I learned about my readers when I read through their reading notebooks.

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids: https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!) http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

Do you subscribe to my weekly newsletter? Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching. Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

Books My Students Are Reading | September 2019

I love taking a closer look at the books my kids are reading each month. In the video below I share all the great books that my readers are currently devouring.

Let me know in the comments what your kids are reading!

 

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids: https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!) http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me: Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

I started a newsletter! Click below to sign up.

http://eepurl.com/c_gMYT

Thanks for watching.

Please me know if I can help you in any way.

colbysharp@gmail.com

SHINE! by J.J. and Chris Grabenstein | Book Talk

I’m so glad my sixth grade daughter talked me into reading J.J. and Chris Grabenstein’s Shine. I LOVED it, and I think middle grade readers are going to love it too.

Book description (from the publisher):

Everyone deserves to shine in this sparkling new book from the New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library , Chris Grabenstein, and coauthor J.J. Grabenstein–just right for fans of Word of Mouse and The Fourteenth Goldfish. “Who do you want to be?” asks Mr. Van Deusen. “And not when you grow up. Right here, right now.” Shine on! might be the catchphrase of twelve-year-old Piper’s hero–astronaut, astronomer, and television host Nellie Dumont Frisse–but Piper knows the truth: some people are born to shine, and she’s just not one of them. That fact has never been clearer than now, since her dad’s new job has landed them both at Chumley Prep, a posh private school where everyone seems to be the best at something and where Piper definitely doesn’t fit in. Bursting with humor, heart, science, possibilities, and big questions, Shine! is a story about finding your place in the universe–a story about figuring out who you are and who you want to be.

If you’d like to purchase the book you can find an affiliate link for that below:

https://amzn.to/2lntZGR

Game Changer! Book Access for All Kids: https://amzn.to/2wHjjVR

The Creativity Project edited by Colby Sharp (ME!) http://amzn.to/2pqudvN

Places to find me:

Website: http://www.mrcolbysharp.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/colbysharp

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/colbysharp

The First 10 Books I Read My Fifth Graders

I’m having a ton of fun with my new class. In the video below, I talk about the first ten picture books that I read them aloud.

I’d love to know the books you’ve been reading your kids. Let me know in the comments below!

The Book of Mistakes: https://amzn.to/2HRsZTl

The Day You Begin: https://amzn.to/34sxuh0

After the Fall: https://amzn.to/2ZMTt3H

Last Stop on Market Street: https://amzn.to/2ZU4v6s

The Very Last Castle: https://amzn.to/34u4BRz

Sam and Dave Dig a Hole: https://amzn.to/2POMl1Z

Be Who You Are: https://amzn.to/312YhOJ

The Story of Fish & Snail: https://amzn.to/313lznF

What If… : https://amzn.to/2N0XpXq

Sometimes It is Okay to be Okay

In the latest episode of Partially Proficient, Alaina and I talk about our big goals for the 2019-2020 school year. My favorite part of the episode is when Alaina talks about how sometimes it is okay to be okay as a teacher. Teachers tend to beat themselves up way too much, and listening to Alaina talk about how we must figure out away to give ourselves a little grace. Check out the episode on iTunes, Spotify, or click the image below to listen to the show directly on the internet.

Mural Artist

If you have a question that you’d like Alaina and I to discuss during out next episode, please drop it in the comments below. We’d love to add a Q and A section to some of the episodes.

When They Discover Something New

Classroom (3)

We just finished our fourth day of school, and things are starting to settle in a bit. Their reading stamina is growing, and our classroom community is starting to take shape. I have an amazing group of kids.

Yesterday in class, during independent reading, I could feel a buzz of excitement in the back of the classroom. The energy pulled me towards the group. When I got there I noticed that they all were reading books in the Abandoned Places series. They were so excited to learn about the placed documented in the books. They were each reading a different book, but it was like they were all reading all the books at the same time. They kept interrupting each other to share something cool they learned, a picture they found captivating, and to ask a question the book sparked.

It. Was. Magical.

img_9540.jpg

The buzz quickly spread to other corners of the room, and within 15 minutes, a series of books that hadn’t be read by any of my students, was now rivaling Dog Man as the most popular set of books in our room.

I spent some time talking to the group of kids that first discovered the series. I just had to figure out how these books became so popular so fast. One of the kids mentioned that his mom watches Abandoned Places videos on YouTube, so when he saw the tub of books, he just had to check it out.

IMG_9542

How about that? I sort of love that a mother’s interest in a YouTube channel led to a classroom obsessed with a book series.

You just never know what is going to happen when you surround kids with books, you let them read what they want, and you give them time to read and talk about those books.

IMG_9541