Melvin and the Boy

Melvin and the Boy

By: Lauren Castillo

 

To say that I am not completely sure how to review a picture book would be an understatement.  I read a lot of picture books, but when it comes to book reviews I usually stick to novels, but after reading Melvin and the Boy I just  cannot help myself.  What I do know is that kids of all ages will love this book.  My 2 and 4 year old had me read it a slew of times last night, and I imagine my fourth graders will eat this story up as well.

Melvin and the Boy is the story of a young boy’s dream to own a pet.  Everywhere he looks he sees children and adults with pets.  After getting regected when he asks for a pet: dog, monkey, and bird the boy’s parents finally agree to let him take home a turtle that he finds in a park.

When he gets home the young boy realizes that Melvin isn’t in love with being a “pet”.  Kids will love finding out what the boy does with his very special pet.

Melvin and the Boy is Lauren Castillo’s first time writing and illustrating a book.  In her previous work she only did the illustrations.  In my opinion she hit a home-run with Melvin and the Boy.  The illustrations do a beautiful job of walking with the text though the story.  Nothing about this book is flashy.  It has the look and feel of a classic.

If you would like to learn more and the work of Lauren Castillo check out her website at http://www.laurencastillo.com. It is one of the nicest author websites that I have ever seen.

2 thoughts on “Melvin and the Boy

Leave a comment